How to Tie a Macrame Crown Knot

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


Crown Knot Steps

Figure #1:  Hold all cords upside down. Divide cords into 4 equal groups. Put one group behind thumb. This is group 1. Number other groups 2, 3 and 4, counter clockwise.

Figure #2:  Pick up group 1 and lay over group 2. Drop group 1 as you pick up group 2.

Figure #3:  Lay group 2 over group 3. Drop group 2 and pick up group 3.

Figure #4:  Lay group 3 over group 4. Drop group 3 and pick up group 4. Take group 4 over the top and put down directly through the hole where your thumb is. Remove your thumb and tighten each group separately.

Figure #5:  This is how one finished knot should look.


Here’s how my crown knot looks.

1st Crown Knot

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com
Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Multiple Crown Knots

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

4 comments on “How to Tie a Macrame Crown Knot

  1. Sadie Moore says:

    I have searched and searched for an old book showing how to make a standing horse or giraffe using the
    large crown knot for the body only making it smaller and smaller for neck and head and legs –I have one from long ago I bought at a craft show and could even send a picture–I think your video will help because I had only used the crown knot starting with a ring and pulling down and had not held it like your vedio thanks

  2. Markus says:

    I every time used to read paragraph in news papers but
    now as I am a user of net therefore from now I am using
    net for posts, thanks to web.

  3. […] that I did crown knots for […]

  4. seekingarcadia says:

    I’m not sure how to tie the bit beyond the crown tie – the braid looking thing

Leave a comment