Crochet Square 4

Tuesday, May 5

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Oh my, what have I done. Is my life now going to be nothing but an endless number of crochet squares? I am hooked on making them. I may never work on any other type of craft. Just going to crochet. (Just kidding)

Anyhoo, I finished Square 4. It measures 5″. Petite and cute. I am in LOVE. Just looking at it, I want to turn it into a scarf, a handbag or an afghan.

The flower part works up fast. So fast, I forgot to take photos until I had reached the green part. The petals are like flaps. You lift up one flap to see the next one. And there is a “strap” (chain 3) in the back of each petal.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

You probably can’t tell it but 7 of the petals are on the “wrong” side and one petal is on the right side. At first I thought I had made the mistake and took it apart and started over. Same result. One petal IS different and there is no way to change it due to how the pattern calls for double crocheting into the ring. The other 7 petals kind of hide it but I know it is there.

Other than that, the directions were spot on. I was kind of concerned that my end result wouldn’t look like the photo but it does. I am happy with it.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

99 to go… I am calling this Project 101.


Go here for pattern instructions.

101 Crochet Squares is by Jean Leinhauser, American School of Needlework, published 1996, ISBN 978-0-88195-715-0.