Another Half Panel And Let The Sashing Begin


Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

As you know, I bounce around a lot!! But I wouldn’t have it any other way. I get bored FAST and like to move from project to project. It takes longer to finish up but being able to revisit a project with fresh eyes seems to help me creatively.

That said…

Today, I bounced back to my Stairsteps quilt. Last time you saw it, I had three panels completed.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Now there are four and one half. With one half to go and then I will begin sashing with my avocado fabric. Only have about two yards of it but that should be aplenty for sashing. 3-4″ between each panel and on the sides. I have been building these strips for a time now and am really excited to finally see the panels sewn together. If I don’t “bounce” around for the next two days, I just might get this quilt top finished this month.

The burgundy fabric I am using is just about used up. I am having to be very protective of it and carefully cut the sashing strips. No room for error. I already checked the web and wasn’t able to find it anywhere. I guess it is out of print. I am hoping I have enough for the border. A long and narrow pillow with the same strips and burgundy sashing would be pretty. But don’t think that is in the cards. I have my fingers and toes crossed that I have enough burgundy for my quilt.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

You can see how long the panels are (77″) in this photo. I am thinking with the sashing and borders, this is going to be a big’in. 😀

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Wish me luck!!

8 comments on “Another Half Panel And Let The Sashing Begin

  1. digipicsphotography says:

    Can’t wait to see it done.

  2. I love it! What great tones and colors. I would never have thought of avocado as sashing, but it looks so beautiful, so right. I’ll stay tuned to see it done.

    • don_mae says:

      Thanks for stopping by, Quilting Nonnie. And thanks much for your comments on my quilt top. I don’t usually quilt with green but lately am starting to add it to my quilts. Loving it.

  3. Lennette says:

    It looks gorgeous Donna!!! I tend to just work on 1 project at a time, although I have 3 baby quilts going right now.

  4. Fran says:

    Donna you have so many neat projects. I am being spotlighted on another blog. Shoot over and sign up for my giveaway necklace.
    http://artbykellymichelle.blogspot.com/2013/06/shop-spotlight-frans-unique-treasures.html

    Fran

Leave a comment