Crochet Square 14

Thursday, May 14

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Another square finished. Square 14. I was delighted to find this design in my 101 Crochet Squares book. I had seen it on other sites and loved it but wasn’t sure how it was made.

It is really quite easy. Each little ruffle part has 5 double crochets. Skip a stitch, 5 dc, skip a stitch, 5 dc. All around in one color, change colors, go around again.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com
Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

In between the ruffles is the square foundation part. The section the ruffles are stitched to. You can’t see that part unless you lift up the ruffles.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

This is too pretty for an afghan. I can’t see myself laying down and smashing all these ruffles. Maybe a cover for those boutique designer tissue boxes. Or a wall hanging. Front of a handbag, maybe.

I love it so I will have to think of what to do with it.

Yarn used:
Lily’s Sugar ‘n Cream 100% cotton in Pink Rose, Cream and Hot Pink.
Lion Brand 100% cotton in Orchid/Fuchsia.

Measurements: 6″


How many squares have I done? Here’s my tracker.

https://thisyearsdozen.wordpress.com/project-101/


Go here for pattern instructions.

101 Crochet Squares is by Jean Leinhauser, American School of Needlework, published 1996, ISBN 978-0-88195-715-0.

