Crochet Square 10 (Never Give Up!!)

Friday, May 8

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

OK, this Square almost didn’t get made. It seemed easy enough in the photo in the pattern book but everyone knows looks can be deceiving.

I first tried several days ago. And then again a day or two later. I still could not figure out what the instructions were telling me to do.

Finally got it on the 3rd try. So, I guess it is true when people say the 3rd time is a charm. See the first two messes in this next photo? My 1st and 2nd attempts. Making no sense whatsoever. No wonder I couldn’t get going.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I do like this stitch, even after all the problems I had learning it. It is one of those projects you can work on while waiting in the doctor’s office. Once you get the row started, you just keep going. Even changing colors was easy.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

No pulling and tugging, not hard on the hands. My kind of stitch. But do be warned, if you make this, some shells appear to be on the wrong side. It may look wrong but that is how the pattern works up. Worked in a triangle, like a fan. In fact, the first few rows would make a cute fan. Maybe dangling from a key chain. This square is perfect for using up your odd lengths of left-over yarn.

I still have a bit of work to do. I want to clean up the edges by adding a couple rows of single crochet stitches. I may add this cute flower to the top or center. What do you think?

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Lesson learned. Never give up.

Yarn used:
Lily’s Sugar ‘n Cream 100% cotton in Cream and Hot Green (Lime).
Lion Brand 100% cotton in Orchid (Fuchsia).

Measurements: 6″


Go here for pattern instructions.

101 Crochet Squares is by Jean Leinhauser, American School of Needlework, published 1996, ISBN 978-0-88195-715-0.

Crochet Square 83

Friday, May 8

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

This square is similar to Square 21 (which is why I made it). No sense in wasting time. Two for one. The flowers are different. This one for Square 83 was a bit tougher. It has more petals and was hard on my hands getting in and out of all the sections on the backside. I like it though. Would look great as a pin on a coat or in your hair.

Colors are Bright Navy (Sugar ‘n Cream), Rose Pink (Sugar ‘n Cream) and Natural (Lion Brand). It measures 7 1/4″. Yarn for the flower is Sugar ‘n Cream Early American Ombre in navy, light blue, rose, pink, burgundy and ecru. All 100% cotton.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Hubby asked what was I going to do with these squares. He suggested a wall hanging. I will probably use some of them for an afghan, purses and saw a cute pattern today for slippers made from granny squares.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


Go here for pattern instructions.

101 Crochet Squares is by Jean Leinhauser, American School of Needlework, published 1996, ISBN 978-0-88195-715-0.

Crochet Square 21

Friday, May 8

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Playing catch up here. Have 3 squares finished but behind in getting them posted.

Here is Square 21. Colors are Bright Navy (Sugar ‘n Cream), Hot Pink (Sugar ‘n Cream) and Natural (Lion Brand). 100% cotton. It measures 8″. Sort of looks like the weave for rugs.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

It would look great wrapped around some towels and given as a gift.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I had no problems with the pattern instructions. I did, however, change up the flower a bit. I added two extra rows of petals to make it larger. Also 2 additional rows on the outer edge.


Go here for pattern instructions.

101 Crochet Squares is by Jean Leinhauser, American School of Needlework, published 1996, ISBN 978-0-88195-715-0.