Crochet Square 33

Monday, May 11

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Whew!! Posting done. This is the last one made over the weekend. I like this square and plan to make lots more of them. I want to make a purse AND an afghan. I made the first square following the instructions but with one slight change on the placement of the double crochet stitches in between the purple flower petals.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I went lower, under the single crochet stitch. The 2nd square I followed exactly per the pattern. You can see the difference. More purple is showing in the 2nd one. I like them both but I guess for a project, I will need to decide on one or the other.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Yarn used:
Lily’s Sugar ‘n Cream 100% cotton in Cream and Hot Purple (Lavender).
Lion Brand 100% cotton in Purple.

Measurements: 5 1/2″


Go here for pattern instructions.

101 Crochet Squares is by Jean Leinhauser, American School of Needlework, published 1996, ISBN 978-0-88195-715-0.

Crochet Square 60

Monday, May 11

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

The flower in this square is sooooooo pretty. I love it. So far, I haven’t met a crochet flower that I didn’t like. I think I could make flowers all day.

Anyhoo, back to Square 60.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Didn’t have many problems making it. Though I did give up at one point when it turned wavy and ruffly. Had to take apart the green section after the last peach section. After a day or two of staring at it, I tried again, this time relaxing my stitch. That seems to work better. It laid flatter.

I am developing my own little tips and tricks to making crocheting go smoother. When following along with the instructions, I place a small yellow sticky note to the page and after completing a step, I move the sticky down to the next step. That way I don’t miss a step or lose my way. I am also learning different ways corners are created. With single crochet stitches and double crochet stitches. I am storing all these things in my “to use for future projects” brain.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Yarn used:
Lily’s Sugar ‘n Cream 100% cotton in Tea Rose (Peach) and Sage Green

Measurements: 6 3/4″


Go here for pattern instructions.

101 Crochet Squares is by Jean Leinhauser, American School of Needlework, published 1996, ISBN 978-0-88195-715-0.

Crochet Square 8 (Winging It)

Monday, May 11

Spent the weekend working on my Project 101 crochet squares, watching You Tube videos, studying patterns and deciding which macrame projects to do.

Trying to move away from my comfort zone and learn something new, I selected Square 8. It has FPDC stitches. Front Post Double Crochet. My first ones. Watched a You Tube video demonstration before starting.

Rounds 1-6. Going smooth, following along with the instructions.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Round 7. Here come the FPDC’s. Slowed a bit to get them just right. If you know how to do a FPDC then you know you are working from the current row going DOWN to the PREVIOUS ROW. They are the puffy stitches in cream. You wrap around “that” stitch 5 times. Pretty, huh? This little section would make a cool coaster.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Round 8. This round kicked my butt and left me scratching my head. Directions said to “3 dc in each of next 2 sc on Rnd 6.” What!! Huh??? Now how the heck can I see Round 6 stitches all covered up with Round 7 and 8’s. I could not find where I was supposed to be. So…… I winged it. I made up my own pattern to finish up this round and the last round which was just a border trim going around the square with single crochet stitches.

I can’t tell if the instructions were screwy or if I needed some help interpreting them. Here is where I got lost, where my hook is.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I finished this row with double crochet stitches.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Here’s my finished square. It measures 5 3/4″. Larger than the one in the book which is 4 1/2″.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Yarn used:
Lily’s Sugar ‘n Cream 100% cotton in Sage Green and Cream


Go here for pattern instructions.

101 Crochet Squares is by Jean Leinhauser, American School of Needlework, published 1996, ISBN 978-0-88195-715-0.