Crochet Square 58 (Clusters)

Monday, May 18

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Petite, cute, quick to make. A bunch of these squares in all different colors would look great as a LONG scarf.

My learning curve just nudged up a bit. I learned how to make a CL. A cluster stitch. It was super easy. Here’s one being made. On my hook.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Not sure why it took me so long to make something using it. I tend to look through my crochet books and select first the stuff with stitches I am familiar with. Never going to grow that way. Which is why I made this.

I like making clusters. I also like the feel of it. You can press your thumb into the depressed area of the petals. There are many more patterns with clusters in my 101 book. Maybe now I can work through them faster. Less study time. More crochet time.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

But for now… am taking a few days break… so I can macrame something. Will get started today. Or tomorrow. Promise. 😀

Yarn used:
Lily’s Sugar ‘n Cream 100% cotton in Hot Green (Lime).

Measures 4″


How many squares have I done?  Here’s my tracker.

https://thisyearsdozen.wordpress.com/project-101/


Go here for pattern instructions.

101 Crochet Squares is by Jean Leinhauser, American School of Needlework, published 1996, ISBN 978-0-88195-715-0.

Crochet Square 15 (New Look For Granny)

Monday, May 18

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

If you like making granny squares but tend to stick to the traditional way, then this square is for you. It still has the classic look but without the big holes throughout.

A foundation row is made between each round for the stitches to hold onto thus reducing the unsightly gaps. It may take a bit longer but you aren’t going back over your work adjusting the sections.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

You could keep going and make an afghan. I didn’t add a finishing border cause I may just do that. Or frame it. This would look pretty double or triple matted.

Yarn used:
Espresso (brown) Lion Brand 100% cotton.
Lily’s Sugar ‘n Cream 100% cotton in Hot Orange and Softly Taupe (beige).

Measures 6 3/4″


How many squares have I done? Here’s my tracker.

https://thisyearsdozen.wordpress.com/project-101/


Go here for pattern instructions.

101 Crochet Squares is by Jean Leinhauser, American School of Needlework, published 1996, ISBN 978-0-88195-715-0.

Crochet Square 52

Monday, May 18

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

The one thing I need to get better at is making circles and working inside the circle. I struggle each and every time trying to get it “just so”, which wastes time. And I am already a slow crocheter.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

This square went ok once I was satisfied with the ring of double crochets. I redid them 3 times. They didn’t look even to me or didn’t lay flat enough. After that, it was smooth sailing.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Another thing I am learning about myself is that my chain stitch loop is really long. I find I need to add more filler stitches to cover it. Going to try to make it smaller.

I added a flower to the center. It looked too plain.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Yarn used:
All Lily’s Sugar ‘n Cream 100% cotton in Softly Taupe (beige), Cornflower Blue and Bright Navy.

Measures 6 1/2″


How many squares have I done? Here’s my tracker.

https://thisyearsdozen.wordpress.com/project-101/


Go here for pattern instructions.

101 Crochet Squares is by Jean Leinhauser, American School of Needlework, published 1996, ISBN 978-0-88195-715-0.

Discovering Stitch Markers (Square 8 Redo)

Monday, May 18

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Who knew these cute little pastel colored circles could help me become a better crocheter. I bought them but rarely used them preferring safety pins instead. Needing more pins than sticking from my pin cushion and too lazy to get up to find more, I reached for my stitch markers.

I needed them to mark all of the single crochet stitches on Round 6. Yep, I was going to tackle Square 8 again. Not going to let it beat me down. That’s the square I blogged about having to “wing it” since I couldn’t figure out the instructions.

But you know what? A strange thing has happened. The more squares I do (BTW, 3 more done, but will tell you about them later), the more I understand crochet speak. Starting to know what to do when I see “sc group” or “dc corner”. These are short cuts found in the pattern to save the author from having to repeat the complete instructions over and over.

Back to Square 8…. I reacquainted myself with the pattern and got started. When I got to Round 6, I put stitch markers on all of the SC (single crochet) stitches. No more hide and seek. Front and center. All brightly identified in pink, white and blue. Ready for me to find later in Round 8.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

This is about where I was stumped on my first try. Didn’t know how to locate the single crochets from Round 6. Where I had to say my good-byes to the instructions and wing it.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And here is my second try. Yay!! I made it to the other side. The stitch markers worked.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

There is not much difference in the 2nd one (hot pink) compared to my winged version (sage green), except it is smaller, rounder. I just hated having to admit defeat.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


Go here for pattern instructions.

101 Crochet Squares is by Jean Leinhauser, American School of Needlework, published 1996, ISBN 978-0-88195-715-0.