Crochet Square 16

Friday, May 15

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Here’s the latest square. Square 16. Finished it today.

When I get 20 of these squares done, think I will take a break. Maybe work up a few of them. My stack of UFO’s is getting higher and I am itching to “make” something.

This square didn’t take long to make though the next one I will alter the instructions a bit. I think there are too many chain stitches in the beginning setting up the foundation for the petals.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I don’t like skimpy stitches or seeing part of the chain peeking out so I added more DC’s than pattern called for. The next square like this one, I will try it with fewer chains.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I added an extra row of single crochet stitches around the edge.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Yarn used:
Lion Brand 100% cotton in Espresso (brown).
Lily’s Sugar ‘n Cream 100% cotton in Hot Orange and Softly Taupe (beige).

Measures 5 1/2″.


How many squares have I done? Here’s my tracker.

https://thisyearsdozen.wordpress.com/project-101/


Go here for pattern instructions.

101 Crochet Squares is by Jean Leinhauser, American School of Needlework, published 1996, ISBN 978-0-88195-715-0.

