How To Make A 20 Strand Seed Bead Bracelet

Saturday, October 4

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Usually I make jewelry with just one strand but wanted to experiment with multi-strands since the challenge is how to end up with one or two strands when connecting the clasp. After several false starts I do believe I have figured out a way to make this work.

Follow along with my tutorial and try making one yourself. Except for the stringing time, it is really easy to make.

Supplies needed to make a 20 strand bracelet with seed beads. 

  • 11/0 seed beads (2 or 3 colors)
  • two 8mm round crystals
  • bracelet clasp (your choice)
  • size 12 stringing wire
  • 2 silver beads (for accent on the ends) 
  • 2 large hole spacer beads to cover the multi-strand wires
  • 2 large crimps size 4 (opening large enough for 20 wires)
  • 4 medium crimps size 3 (opening large enough for 10 wires)
  • 2 regular size crimps (for clasp ends)

Tools needed:  Alligator clips, chain nose pliers, wire cutter, crimper

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

STEP-BY-STEP INSTRUCTIONS TO MAKE 20 STRAND BRACELET

Step 1.  Cut 22 lengths of wire 14 inches each. (Set 2 lengths aside. Will be used to connect clasp.)

Step 2.  String 5 inches of 11/0 seed beads on each of the 20 lengths of wire. String some with mixed colors and some solid. Mix up for a colorful look.  Use alligator clips on both ends to hold beads in place.

Step 3.  Make sure exposed wire is even on both ends with the 5 inches of seed beads in the center. Measure carefully. Check each strand.

Step 4.  Arrange strands with the colors in the order you wish. Mix up so you don’t have all one color on one side unless of course that is how you want them.

Step 5.  Remove alligator clips on the left side and carefully insert all 20 strands of wire into the LARGE size 4 crimp.  Pull tight on each wire so crimp touches seed beads. 

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Step 6.  Flatten the large size 4 crimp which is holding all 20 wires, with chain nose pliers. 

Step 7.   Separate into 2 sets of 10 wires.  Slide one size 3 crimp onto one set of 10 wires. Slide the other size 3 crimp onto the second set of 10 wires. These will sit right on top of the larger flattened crimp. See photo.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Step 8.  Flatten the two size 3 crimps with chain nose pliers. Make sure to flatten really tight.

Step 9.  Cut off excess wire. See photo showing how much I cut off.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Step 10.  Take one of the 14″ lengths of wire set aside from Step 1 and loop it under the strands of beads and up over the crimped/cut wires.  See photo. 

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Step 11.  String through Large Hole Spacer Bead, 8mm Round Crystal, 5mm Silver Bead, Regular Size Crimp and one end of Toggle.  Loop wire over the toggle and downward through crimp, silver bead, crystal and large hole spacer bead.  Wire should exit the underside of the large hole spacer bead. Pull tight so crystal is tight against the large hole spacer bead.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Step 12.  Crimp the crimp once you have everything the way you want it. DON’T cut the wires yet.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Step 13.  Repeat Steps 5 through 12 for the right side of the bracelet.  Braid, weave or mix up the strands however you wish before adding the Large Size 4 Crimp. See photos for how I did mine.

Step 14. Once you are satisfied with the tightness of the wires connecting the toggle, ok to cut the excess wires on the toggle ends.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

You are now finished and ready to wear your 20 strand bracelet. Enjoy!!

Note: These instructions will make a 7 1/2-8 inch finished bracelet, after adding the clasp. Add additional seed beads to make bracelet longer. Of course, increase wire length accordingly.

I am always looking for tips and tricks. If you know of a better technique to “reduce” the wires down to one before adding the toggle, please post a comment. Thanks!!

37 comments on “How To Make A 20 Strand Seed Bead Bracelet

  1. Gaye says:

    Thanks for sharing this turtorial. I LOVE seeing all the pretty things you make. Where did you get your findings for your jewelry?.. they are always so pretty!

    I also love your macramae purses..

    You are a VERY talented person..
    Gaye

  2. don_mae says:

    Hi there, thanks so much for the compliments on my work. Really appreciate it.

    I shop locally at Munro Crafts, 2CuteBeads, Michaels and JoAnns. Also online at Fire Mountain, Jewelry Supply.

    • Katy... says:

      Hi…

      I really like your 20 strand bracelet… I am trying to gather the items needed to make one… Where did you find the alligator clips?…
      You have so many beautiful pieces of jewelry … I really like incorporating the buttons into the pieces… Where do you sell you things?…

      Sincerely…
      Katy…

      • don_mae says:

        Hi Katy, I get the alligator clips at Radio Shack, an electronics store. 6 for $2. I am going to list some things on Etsy and eBay soon. I will post here on my blog when I do. Thanks for your kind words. I appreciate it very much.

  3. Nice job on all of those bracelets!

    What did you buy at the bead faire?!

  4. don_mae says:

    Thanks, Michelle. The bead show was great!! More booths than I had money for. I got beads, findings, books and display stuff. Saw one of my bracelet class mates, ate lunch, collected lots of business cards. The next show is March or Apr, can’t remember, but I will be there.

  5. don_mae says:

    Thanks, Sara.

  6. brandNEWatThis says:

    Hi, thanks for your tutorial. I’m new at beading. I’m trying to make a 10 strand necklace using 8/0 Japanese glass seed beads. They’re pale and opalescent. I thought metal wire was a no-no. What kind of thread should I use? Fishing type nylon? Please tell me the type, name, brand name and size or anything that applies. Thank you.

  7. don_mae says:

    Hi BrandNEWatThis. I prefer Beadalon .012 wire when stringing beads. It will hold up to 12 lbs. I use .018 when stringing heavier beads. Good luck with your necklace.

  8. Dana says:

    In you tutorial 20 strand beaded bracelet you mention #4 & #3 crimps. Exactly what size are these because I can’t find sizes 3 & 4. And also #12 beading wire? Thanks so much. I am looking forward to making this.

  9. don_mae says:

    They came in tiny glass tubes with those sizes marked on the label. I tossed the container so can’t be more specific. Find the largest size you can. I got them at Michaels in the wire section.

    What I call #12 wire is made by Beadalon, 7 strands, XS. On the packaging states .012″ (0.30 mm), use crimp bead #1 or crimp tube #1, break 12 lb. Hope this helps.

  10. hello!
    I loved your blog very very
    congratulations.
    Eu amo seu blog muito,muito,parabéns.
    I am brasiliam, I am live in Salvador City_ Ba – Brasil.
    Yolanda Analice

  11. Meek Concept says:

    I think you’r amazing. I wouldnt have thought of using a Large Hole Spacer Bead to hide the crimp ends for multiple strand. Does anybody know where can I get gold large hole spacer bead that wouldnt tarnish?

  12. new girl says:

    hi im wondering what do you mean by 11/0 seed beads im new to this so could you please reply

    do we have to use toggle clasp could we use a lobster clasp

    • don_mae says:

      Hi there. 11/0 is the size of the seed bead. These are the tiny ones. Not the tiniest, but tiny still. I use them a lot. Here’s where I get most of them.

      http://www.firemountaingems.com/search.asp?skw=11%2F0+seed+beads

      And yes, you can use a lobster claw clasp. I had a few sterling silver toggles I wanted to use.

      Good luck making your bracelet. Let me know if you have any other questions.

      • new girl says:

        thanks 4 answering my question i do have 1 more can we use tiny glass beads
        ———————————-
        Reply:
        On November 25, 2009 at 3:00 am
        don_mae Said:

        Hi New Girl. Yes, you can. Those I showed you from Fire Mountain Gems are tiny glass beads.

  13. Mary S. Wagner says:

    Thank you for the tutorial and wonderful photos. I, too, am new to this and appreciate all resources I can get my hands on. And thank you for taking the time to answer all our questions. Have a great Thanksgiving.

  14. new girl says:

    hey
    do u know how 2 make a fringe bracelet 4 beginners

  15. new girl says:

    hey can we use elastic cord ?

  16. Sandra says:

    Hi,
    FYI. Have used alligator clips for years and have experienced slip and fail!
    Now have found and have you tried “Bead Stopper”.
    Like them much better and fun to use. Little springs with coated tips that one pinches to flex spring open, spring then holds wire or beading string tightly.
    Four in a package. I found them at Hobby Lobby.
    $6.99 but used a 40% off coupon:)

    Sandra

  17. Debra says:

    I remember wanting to do a bracelet like this ages ago. Really pretty. I’ll have to do some supply buying here soon as I really want to try this one. I love big heavy bulky jewelry.

  18. Kristie says:

    Can you give us the instructions for the earrings in the picture? They are awesome. . .I love your work!!

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Kristie, I just sewed about 30 11/0 sized seedbeads into a circle. Use however many seedbeads you wish to form the size you want.

      Go through all the beads several times and tie off the thread. Then connect circles with a tiny jump ring and connect that to an earwire. You can dangle whatever you wish off it with more jumprings. Very easy to do. No pattern. Let me know how yours come out.

  19. JoElle says:

    this is my first year making bracelets was searching for how to make 2 or 3 strand bracelet , this has been very helpful and impressive . thank you so much your work is awsome and i love the findings . JoElle in texas

    • don_mae says:

      Hi JoElle, glad this post was of help to you. For 2 or 3 strands, you can purchase the 2-3 strand clasps. Those are quite easy to work with. More than that and that’s where the challenge comes in.

      You can also use cones to hide multiple wires. Use a headpin, wrap the stringing wires around it and come out of the top of the cone.

      Have fun beading.

  20. medha devdas says:

    hi thank u for the tutorial.very beautiful.thank u

  21. Kim says:

    These are absolutely gorgeous bracelets. I have been making my own jewelry now for several years, but just your basic ones, usually on stretchy string. But I have been wanting to try out a multi-strand project for a while now. You made this seem so simple, that I’m already fixing up my list to head to hobby lobby and get what I need to do it. Thanks for the inspiration!!

  22. Hello to every , because I am really keen of reading this weblog’s post to be updated regularly. It includes pleasant stuff.

  23. So glad I found your tutorial via Craftsy. I recently came into a large supply of seed beads and can’t wait to try this.

  24. Elaine Mchale says:

    Love the bead bracelet this is great information as I am new to this, thanks for inspiration you have given me.

  25. Maria says:

    Wow! – it’s really good idea for connected together beaded strands – I’m going to use your tip! Thank you

  26. This is an awesome idea. I’ve always struggled with finishing off multi-strand creations. What I’ve done before is leave one or two of the strands long while crimping off all of them and then trimming the other strands. Use the two remaining strands to finish the bracelet off just as you used the extra piece of wire. I like your idea, too, though and might give it a try. Thanks for sharing.

  27. Lee says:

    What a neat trick for multi-strands! What if, instead of cutting off all of the wires, you left one wire uncut at each end of the bracelet? Could you then string those long wires through a bead cover, a crimp bead, and a lobster claw? Then cover the final crimp bead with a crimp cover?

Leave a comment