Making Peyote Heart Cuff Bracelets

Tuesday, September 23

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

My favorite part of the day is deciding what to work on. As you know I am trying to use my existing craft supplies and stay out of craft stores. And since I love peyote beading that is what I have been doing. No surprise there!! LOL!!

Always on the lookout for something new and different, I found a heart online and plotted it out on peyote graph paper. So that is what I have been making… heart bracelets. I wish there was a way to make the heart rounder.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Next I am going to do a few with hearts facing in opposite directions. Making these bracelets should be fast and easy but with the irregular shapes and sizes of seed beads, each bead has to be examined before I use it. That part takes forever. But I would rather do that than be unhappy with the outcome.

I learned something new while making these bracelets. Decrease peyote stitch. It was easy. I used it for all of these bracelets. I like how the ends look finished. The “high” beads aren’t sticking out.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I am using size 8/0 seed beads. In the colors I have. I could bead all year and still not make a dent in my seed bead stash.

Supplies Used for the Clasp

  • 6mm & 7mm sterling silver jump rings 18 gauge
  • Swarovski crystal donut rings
  • Bar with crystal ends
  • Crystal heart charms
  • 6mm silver plated jump rings 20 gauge
  • Silver plated toggle clasp
15 comments on “Making Peyote Heart Cuff Bracelets

  1. Quilty says:

    Oh my goodness, I bet there are dust bunnies living one on top of the other in your house… or have you got hubby into your apron and managing mop and duster? You are a most prolific beader! πŸ˜€
    They really are nice. The peyote decrease works well for each end. Now wouldn’t DKC be proud of you? Have you tried learning the Native American version of peyote yet? It is different again. πŸ™‚

  2. Belinda says:

    Your beaded creations are beautiful, but I think your poor Janome is feeling lonely and neglected right now. πŸ˜‰

  3. Quilty says:

    Yay, I bet it is! πŸ˜€

  4. don_mae says:

    Thanks so much, Ladies!! I do enjoy working at it all day and night.

    Yep, dust bunnies in all the rooms. At least they aren’t lonely. Lots of them!! πŸ˜€

    I am still deciding on whether to make Nana’s project. Seems it should be made from fabric heavier than I own. Belinda, I am surprised you haven’t joined in since you love to sew.

  5. Quilty says:

    Get yourself on Skype or Yahoo Messenger and with an inexpensive hands-free headset, you can be chatting to us (vocal, not typing) while you bead – yay, best of both worlds! πŸ˜€

  6. Belinda says:

    Donna, I’m so busy right now that I barely have time to sew the things I’m sewing for the hospice and another charity, not to mention wanting to sew for myself again. Nana’s project looks interesting, but I just don’t have time to join in right now.

    Your Janome is lonely, though, so perhaps you should dust it off and let it get some exercise. πŸ˜‰

  7. digipicsphotography says:

    WOW! Those are great! You have such a talent for beading!

  8. don_mae says:

    Quilty, hate to admit it but after almost 40 years in the telcom industry, talking on the phone is not my cup of tea. 😦

    Belinda, I totally understand. You are quite busy, I have been following along with your projects on your blog.

    Hi Sharon!! Thanks so much. AND I have made others. Just haven’t taken photos.

  9. digipicsphotography says:

    Hey, you need to visit us at the Cafe and let us know you are okay.

  10. don_mae says:

    Hi Sharon!! How are you!! I am fine. Was just taking a break from chatting. Didn’t feel much like talking. Hope you are all well.

  11. digipicsphotography says:

    Glad you are okay. I sent an email to your hubby ’cause you haven’t checked in lately. See we’re keeping tabs on you. Anyway, I am glad you’re doing okay.

  12. don_mae says:

    Hi Sharon, I am fine. Just up now getting photos ready for a tutorial. Hubby won’t get your e-mail until next Friday. He got a virus and had to take his laptop to Best Buy. They had it for 2 weeks. He got it back yesterday but couldn’t connect to the Internet (after several hours on the phone with everybody) so Geek Squad has to come out to reconnect him. I will let you know if he tells me about your e-mail. Thanks for checking on me. πŸ˜€

  13. Kristi says:

    Can you do commission work? thanks, Kristi

  14. don_mae says:

    I sure can. What do you have in mind?

Leave a Reply

