Inspired By Crystal To Make This Crystal Bracelet

Inspiration comes from many places. Something you read. Something you saw.

For my new bracelet it was both. Something I read AND saw. At Bead Happily Ever After. Crystal’s blog. She makes really pretty jewelry. She’s the one I told you about with the jewelry giveaways.

Anyway, she posted this blue crystal bracelet on her blog a week or so ago.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

(I stole this image from her blog.)

Isn’t it beautiful!! So sparkly and delicate looking. You want to just look at it all day. Well, I wanted to do more than that!! I wanted to MAKE MY OWN.

So…. off to You Tube. Anything you want to make is on You Tube. Found this video on the Flat Spiral stitch. Demonstrated by one of Auntie’s Beads designers. Easy to follow along. Watched it twice.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oiB_PID3sC4

Gathered up my Swarovski crystal stash. Didn’t have enough of one color so I went with multi-color crystals.

And created these. Bracelet, earrings and ring.


BRACELET

First off. Started with the bracelet. It was easy to make. I ended one side with seed beads to loop around the toggle bar.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Other side I made a peyote bail to loop around the crystal ring.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

It is so light on my wrist. I could wear it all day. Even though these are crystals, which shout dress up, you could wear this with your favorite jeans. Dress up. Dress down. Goes with anything.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


EARRINGS

OK. I told you the bracelet was easy. Earrings. Not so much. I made them 3 times. And took them apart 3 times. Just wasn’t coming out the way I wanted. First time. 2 crystals dangled under the bottom. You can imagine anything you want here. LOL!! And I wanted the direction of the seed beads to arch UP on both sides. Not down on one and up on the other. Which meant I had to “turn” my work in the middle. Tried it. So-so. Not balanced when I folded the ends up.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Next day. 3rd try. Still not right. But getting there. Finally on the 4th try I got it to look like I wanted. I ended up NOT adding crystals to two of the beaded arches under the bottom.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


RING

By now I knew to “turn” my work in the middle so arches would match up on both sides. Also knew what to do to create the peyote band from making the bail for the bracelet clasp. So, the ring was easy.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I really love the flat spiral stitch. I know. I know. You have heard it all before. I guess there isn’t a beaded stitch out there that I don’t like!! Try it. You may love it too.


Go here to read all about Crystal’s bracelet. Leave a comment while you are there to be entered in her giveaway. Maybe you will win something. Good luck!!

http://beadhappilyeverafter.com/blog/?p=13070

7 comments on “Inspired By Crystal To Make This Crystal Bracelet

  1. Crystal says:

    Hi Donna 🙂

    I love how your bracelet turned out and the crystal ring for the toggle is such a pretty touch. 🙂

    How fun that you added earrings and a ring to match. I agree totally that this set would be fabulous to wear everyday.

    Thanks a million for your kind words.

    You’re the best!
    xo 🙂

    • don_mae says:

      You are so welcome!! I love your blog.

      I made a 2nd bracelet in earthtone colors. It came out just as nice as the 1st one. Getting ready to try it with regular round beads, no crystals.

      I am so glad I saw your blue one. I like trying new things.

  2. Ok! So post the earthtone bracelet!

    Very pretty!

  3. Debra says:

    Donna, these are gorgeous! I think they take the position of my new favorite of everything you’ve posted here. Beautiful! I love sparkly shining things, and these are the perfect balance between casual and dressy. Wow! 😀

    • don_mae says:

      Thanks much, Debra!! I bet you have lots of crystals in your bead stash. You should try it.

      • Debra says:

        Actually, not so many crystals, but I was thinking a less expensive and just as pretty alternative could be Czech firepolish beans. They have a really nice shine and come in a nice variety of colors.

Leave a Reply

