Finally Finished With Beaded Pillow Beads

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

OMG!! What a project.

But I was determined to see it through to the end. These little beaded beads really were a challenge. Each one took 30 minutes to make when I first started. Near the end, I was able to reduce that time by half.

I made almost 80 of them. Can you believe that!!

  • 40 for the necklace
  • 22 for the bracelet
  • 12 for 3 pairs of earrings
  • two I ended up not needing

Remember me showing you this picture? I decided to go a different direction.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Went with a stacked look instead of stringing them lengthwise.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

To bring out the fuchsia color of the seed beads, I added Swarovski Cosmic crystals. Also used fuchsia crystal connectors with the clasp. Toggle bar has little crystals on the tips. Can you see them?

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


Earrings were easy to make. I made three pairs. I only have pictures of two. Forgot to take photo of the 3rd pair. They are similar to this first photo. (OH!! I do have a picture of the third pair. Look up top at the first photo.)

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


And lastly. The BRACELET. Sigh. 😦

Trying to find a clasp which didn’t add several inches to the length was so frustrating. I tried about five different styles. Going from a high up bead to a low flat clasp just didn’t work. It looked off balanced. So I ended up making my own clasp from seed beads and a Swarovski Cosmic crystal.

Here’s how I created it.

I cut a 36″ length of no.12 stringing wire. Strung seed beads in the center of the wire and went through the crimp, bicone, beaded beads and green glass beads. (See photos)

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

On the opposite end, I continued with the wire through bicone, crimp and seed beads. Then crossed over the wires through the Cosmic crystal and then back down through everything.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

So… the tip of the day is this. When you can’t find a clasp you really love, make your own.


Pattern for the beaded pillow beads can be found in More Seed Beads Stitching by Beth Stone.

10 comments on “Finally Finished With Beaded Pillow Beads

  1. Karen Tucker says:

    GORGEOUS!!!!! You are sooooooooooooooooooo talented!!!!Love seeing pictures of what you are making..smile

  2. digipicsphotography says:

    Very good! Of course you always do great with beading.

  3. Nys says:

    Hi Donna 🙂
    Just thought I’d let you know I mentioned your blog in my latest blog post 🙂 http://pixelatedmushroom.blogspot.com/2010/08/new-house-and-some-favourite-blogs.html
    Happy crafting!
    Nys

  4. Debra says:

    Really pretty Donna.

    I was browsing Etsy and found this necklace that reminded me of you- http://www.etsy.com/listing/47501766/echoes-to-the-past. Some of your asymmetrical pieces have been my favorites.

  5. Crystal says:

    Wow, Donna 🙂
    Another beauty!!!
    This set is the very definition of “a labor of love” with your making all those beads – individually!!

    It is so stunning – love the colors and your crystal connectors/toggle/clasp ideas, too.

    • don_mae says:

      Thanks, Crystal!!

      Making those little beads was so addicting. I made a game of it. If I was watching an hour TV show, then I challenged myself to see how many I could make before the show was over. Before I knew it, I had a pile of them done. I just kept going. LOL!!

  6. Sarah says:

    I just started following your blog, and I LOVE this set!!!
    I came to look at your past posts and stumbled across this one.
    You are so talented with the way you put colors together and make something look that beautiful. (:

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Sarah, welcome to my blog.

      I hope you will sign up to receive new posts via e-mail so you won’t miss any of my creations. I never know from day to day what I will make. Be it jewelry, macrame, crochet or sewing. What fun I am having!!

      And thanks so much for your compliments on my work. Really appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

