Recycle #1: How To Recycle Crystal Light Containers

 

Off and on, for years I have been saving plastic Crystal Light containers. I would get an idea, make one or two, toss the rest.  Then start the cycle over every few years.

Currently I had been storing them to hand out to my crochet classmates to hold their crochet hooks. But since I gave up being able to learn in a free class of 50 students, I was, again, just accumulating them.

There are many uses for these containers.

Here are just a few:

  1. Vase
  2. Floral arrangement
  3. Pen/Pencil holder
  4. Greeting Card holder
  5. Earring holder
  6. Towel holder
  7. Display buttons/photos

To make this vase like I did, you just need a few supplies.

  • One Crystal Light container, 6 1/2″ tall and 2 5/8″ diameter, the taller one.
  • Yarn, approximately 50 yards
  • Scissors
  • Tape
  • Cardboard

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


Directions to make one VASE:

Clean off label residue, punch hole in bottom large enough to insert scissors. Cut out the bottom, tape cut edges to keep container from cracking as you work.

Cut a small rectangle of cardboard and punch hole in top. Wrap yarn around cardboard. (See photo)

Begin wrapping container. Continue until plastic no longer visible or until you are satisfied. Tie off on the underside.

Decorate as desired.  Insert round block of styrofoam in bottom to use as pen/pencil holder.

If Crystal Light containers are not available, use any type round container with open top and bottom. Should work the same way. Have fun!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

 

3 comments on “Recycle #1: How To Recycle Crystal Light Containers

  1. Melissa D says:

    I need 26 plastic Crystal Light containers with lids for my daughter’s Easter class craft. I do not drink Crystal light and do not want to buy them and not use them. Do you know where I can get them? Please e-mail me at madsquirt2002@yahoo.com, with any advice. I have less than a week to prep. I also asked all the parents if they had any or knew someone who did. I got no response! Thanks

Leave a comment