Rudy, the Weekend & Quilting

Monday, March 2

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

It is March already and per my Craft Calendar, it is time for me to learn quilting. Not going to say I am excited since I am enjoying crocheting. I will dust off my quilting books and get started… next week. But first, I want to finish up a few crochet UFO’s.

Didn’t get much chance to work on anything over the weekend. I started my Spring housecleaning a bit early. I think spring is miles away but I had loads of energy and got started anyway. That took up all of Saturday and most of Sunday. The only crocheting I was able to work on was Rudy. HE IS FINISHED!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

If you are just learning to crochet, then Rudy the Rectangle is the perfect project. I learned how to make an embroidered French Knot, improved on making circles and tubular crocheting and how to make a border.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I am also getting better at reading crochet patterns.

One improvement I plan to make, when I make the 2nd Rudy, is how the arms and legs are attached. I am going to use the technique I learned for sewing the thumb onto my mittens. Make an opening first and then inset the arms/legs into the opening. Not sure how that will work, but I am going to try it.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Hand sewing them was ok but I think it will look better the other way.

2 comments on “Rudy, the Weekend & Quilting

  1. Is Rudy Sponge-Bob’s cousin?

  2. crystal says:

    Rudy is adorable! You accomplished a lot of great crochet projects, but I love your hats the most. So pretty! 🙂

    How can you be spring cleaning already!?! You’re showing the rest of us up, you know! 😉 Just kidding! Good for you! You’re inspiring me to begin!

Leave a Reply

