March Ends On A High

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Already eight days into April and I haven’t even finished posting about my March projects. Bad Donna!! Bad. Bad. (Better late, than never, right?)

I had a GREAT March as far as sewing projects go even though I was so obsessed with not wasting thread that every thing I sewed had a “pause.” A pause for me to grab a scrap and sew it to something.

You’ve heard of Distracted Drivers. Well, have you heard of a Distracted Sewer? That’s me. I can get off track 10 times in an hour. But in my mind, my method of sewing is organized chaos. At the end of the day, as I am turning off the light to my sewing machine, I look around to visually tally up what I managed to start, move along or complete.

Here are those starts, move alongs and completes…

Charity Pillowcases

First off, speaking of “high” up there in my title post, I got it from this guy.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

One of the twenty-four charity pillows cases for March. I have to say this batch, Batch 12, was for the guys. Spiderman and basketballs. I have favorites in every batch. Love these. That red, white and black one was my pieced pillowcase for the month. I am trying to do one a month that is patchwork.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Sixty-six made so far this year. I am six over target.


ScrappyTripAroundtheWorld Quilt Blocks (STATW)

My STATW blocks are finished.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I am using 36 blocks (12 1/2″ square) for my quilt. I made more than the 36 since I couldn’t make up my mind on which shade of burgundy I liked best for the center of each block. So, silly me, ended up with 27 extra blocks.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I will either use the extra blocks for a charity quilt or give them away.

Also, the chopped off ends of each strip will be made into a pillow.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I am using the darker burgundy for sashing.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

The plan is to make a long, long slender pillow. Will have to see how far I can stretch those chopped ends.


Block of the Month Quilt

This quilt is a project from one of my quilt groups. It won’t be finished until around the end of November or early December. Each month I get a new block to make. For March we had to make two.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

You can see I now have five blocks completed.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Seven to go. Going to be fun deciding on the sashing, borders and binding.


Crumbs Quilt

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I am LOVING this!! All from my little bits and pieces of scraps. My Crumbs. So excited to see it grow. I have been working on and off for a month. I need to set aside some time to work on it more this month. With the pieces so tiny, it takes a while to create.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

What you see up on my design wall, took hours and hours and hours. Days!! πŸ˜€


5 by 5 Quilt

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Not sure what I will do with these blocks but I will add a few more colors and hopefully an idea will pop up. I had way too many 2 1/2″ squares cut and wanted to use up some of them. I have seen a few quilts made with these 25 square color blocks and they look really pretty.


You already saw these. I quilted them in March.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

So, that does it for closing out March. April will be about quilting some of my UFO’s and bonding with my new sewing machine. I have been practicing free motion quilting on it. Getting the setting and tension to my liking. Still learning what all it can do.

What about you? Are you on track to finish up some of your UFO’s? Do tell.

10 comments on “March Ends On A High

  1. Belinda says:

    Donna, you always amaze me! Need I say it again?! πŸ™‚ Like you, I enjoy making pillowcases because they are quick, fun, and easy, and I can use my serger, which makes the project go more quickly. I like the blocks that you made for your quilt group. Did you get to choose the color scheme? I also like the Trip Around the World quilt top. I tend to like almost everything you make. πŸ˜‰

    Do you like the piecing part of quilting the best, or the actual quilting of the piece? I love hand work, so I really prefer hand quilting, but I can’t complete as many quilts that way! Machine quilting larger quilts tends to frustrate me, so I will have to work on that.

    • don_mae says:

      Hi there, Belinda..thanks much. For my BOM, yes, I was able to select my own fabric and color scheme. I debated and auditioned quite a few before deciding on the purple and paisley.

      I think I like the piecing part of quilting best. Maybe when I get better at the sandwiching part and not have tension issues, I will like the actual quilting process more. And practicing. I have to do more of that. I saw your quilt top on your blog. Very pretty. Thanks for visiting me. πŸ˜€

  2. W-O-W! You’re one amazing lady!!!

  3. digipicsphotography says:

    What charity do you donate your pillowcases to? Just curious.

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Sharon, after doing quite a bit of research I found a charity here in the Metro Detroit area doing excellent work with the less fortunate. Enchanted Makeovers. You can read more on them up top. Click on Charity Stitches. Thanks for asking and thanks for stopping by. πŸ˜€ (Great health tips on your blog.)

  4. Janneke says:

    Wow, I like them all! Really nice, I wish I was capable of making such nice quilts πŸ™‚

  5. Lennette says:

    You’ve certainly been busy Donna making such beautiful “things”!!! I love your BOM blocks and you’ve inspired me to do a STATW!!! I’ve bought yellows and purples for it and hope to start it next week.

    • don_mae says:

      Hey Lennette!! Can’t wait to see your STATW in yellows and purples. I didn’t like purple that much before I started quilting. Now I LOVE it. Thanks so much.

Leave a Reply

