Scrappy Week 2 – Going Green


Next up?

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Green…

One of my readers, Dorothy, asked me to show how I am sewing the strips together before cutting them into 4 1/2″ blocks.

This is how I am doing them.

First, organize. It is easier and faster to just grab a scrap if the piles are sorted. If they are really wrinkled, I will press them before beginning.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Next I do the “touch the ruler” test. Select a scrap, briefly touch it to the ruler, making sure it is at least 4 1/2″ long.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Width doesn’t matter. Wide, thin, teeny tiny, wedge shaped. I use them all. The wonkier the better.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

BUT I make sure the edge is straight before I sew. A quick trim with scissors. I don’t use a foundation to begin. Just sew two scraps together and build on those. I sew enough scraps to make about 6″ height. If I want to cut the block on the diagonal, I use scraps at least 5 1/2″-6″ long. And alternate the widths when possible for an interesting look.

So… you can sew wonky.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Or you can cut wonky.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

You can also sew a continuous strip of scraps and then cut out multiple blocks.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

It is faster on the cutting side but LONG going on the sewing side. I have tried both and like sewing individual blocks better.

I have been working on these off and on for three days and just about used up all of my green scraps. 42 green blocks finished.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

My favorite.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Blue is next. I have quite a collection of blue scraps. And all the scraps from my many Barbie projects. But I think I won’t use them and just save them for something Barbie related.

Update in a couple days….

10 comments on “Scrappy Week 2 – Going Green

  1. LisaD in upstate NY says:

    Gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous!!!

  2. Crystal says:

    I was never a fan of green. I always avoided buying anything to wear in that color.

    In the last several years, though, I’ve slowly been warming up to green. Now, I actually LOVE certain shades of it, and seeing your pretty blocks has reminded me just how much! 🙂

    Beautiful work!

    • don_mae says:

      I wasn’t much of a green fan either until recently. Those colors in that last block look really great on me I found out. They are my favorite greens.

      Thanks much!!

      • Betty says:

        However, green is my favorite color and has been for many years. I enjoy seeing your beautiful blocks. What are you planning for your birthday?

  3. Deb says:

    Wow! You had a ton of green scraps Donna! Looking good!

    Got some good news on my end tonight- bf is finally getting his transfer to day shift on the 28th!

  4. Dorothy says:

    Thanks so much for the step by step! I have been doing some flip and sew crazy quilt squares (9in) to use for something. LOL. I make tote bags and these squares are nice for insets on the sides of the bags. I love the flip and sew to use scraps, then I top stitch the seams with a fancy stitch from my machine. So now I can try some cute scrappy blocks and maybe do a whole side to my tote.
    Thanks again. This was quite helpful. Dorothy

  5. don_mae says:

    Hi Betty, yes I knew green was your favorite color. I really like moss green. The usual for my birthday. Thanksgiving dinner out. I rarely cook for the holidays anymore. More fun to let someone else do the cooking and cleaning up. Thanks for thinking of me. 😀

Leave a Reply

