Scrappy Week 2: Jeweltone Quilt

With all the 4 1/2″ scrap blocks accumulating in little bags all around me…

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I decided to lay them out on my work table. I tried different arrangements but didn’t like any of them except this one. And you know how much I LOVE POLKA DOTS. Makes sense I would use them to connect the blocks. Right!!

Quilt will measure approximately 70″ by 80″. 24 scrap blocks per color strip plus the sashing measures 15″ across.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I am thinking five colors should do it. Any more and it would be too large for me to manage. To stabilize all the seams underneath, I am going to sew either straight lines or wavy lines down each strip before doing the quilting. Using matching thread. And then quilt with diagonal lines or stippling. Should be interesting.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Not sure what I will use for sashing when I get to the wine/burgundy blocks. No wine/burgundy polka dot fabric. But I do have lots of other polka dot colors.

This quilt will use only a small portion of the scrap blocks. I have other ideas on how to use them. And then at the end, if I still have blocks left, I will probably offer them to you guys and have a giveaway.


In my last post, I mentioned BLUE was next. Here you can see them. Somewhat sorted. Many more than I thought I had.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Two bags full. So many shades of blue. Light blue, royal, navy (different shades), blue gray, medium blue, blues with other colors. Tie dyed.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And aqua/turquoise.

Not sure what to do with this color. Not a lot of it. Aqua may be one of the colors missing from my Scrappy Project. We shall see.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

More updates in a couple days…….

3 comments on “Scrappy Week 2: Jeweltone Quilt

  1. Yep, you have lots blues. I think I do too. I’m sure I’m going to love this group.

  2. Betty says:

    Hi Donna

    I like the color pattern you have chosen. I think you could go either way.
    The light blues to contrast or keep it dark to stay
    with the trend you already have. I like blue and green together.

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Betty, I decided to do something different with the blues since the black polka dot borders made it too dark. But I think you will like what I did. Photos coming up…

      Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

