Crochet Squares: Lavender Explosion, Snowflake & Flowers

Five more crochet squares completed from the book, 101 Crochet Squares by Jean Leinhauser. (I have typed her name so many times, I don’t have to check the spelling anymore.)


Square 40 – Wheel

Another favorite of mine. I will make this one again. I only made a few changes. And just for a fuller look for the olive round. I added additional double crochets.

Colors are dusty purple, olive and eggplant (purple). Hook G.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


Square 25

You can’t tell from the photo but I had a TIME with this square.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

The center part came out perfectly.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

But the lavender section would NOT lie flat no matter what I did. I could not get it to look right when following the instructions and completely took it apart several times.

Finally after several hours, I said, “to heck with it” and winged it. I put half double crochets where needed to straighten out the rows. And I added an extra round to even things out. Whew!! It looks like the photo in the book but I won’t be making this square again.


Square 96 – Snowflake

No construction problems with this one at all. Very smooth. All the stitches lined up where they belonged.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Only problem I had was with trying to photograph white yarn. Sorry but my pictures are crappy. Cranberry color is either too dark or white yarn is blurry. This is the best I could get.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


Square 100

This square starts off with a pretty flower.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

The 1st round after the flower had lots of stitches I had never made before. Triple Crochet Cluster (trc CL), Double Triple Crochet (dtrc) and Double Triple Crochet Cluster (dtrc CL). I know how to make them now. Easy.

I will make the flower again but not the square. The flower pulls on the first round and the square makes up too large.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


Square 84

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And I saved the WORST one for last. This is the Square From Hell.
What a mess!! It even looks crooked in the book. That should have given me a clue, Sherlock. I almost gave up on this one too but kept going. The first rows are worked in “rounds” and I am sure somewhere in here is where my block twisted up. I put this purple flower on top of the square rather than pull it apart and start over.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Nope. Not gonna do it over. Done and moving on.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

So… that’s it for now. When I get to 50 squares, going to take a break and make up something with a few of these squares. Can’t wait. Should be fun.

11 comments on “Crochet Squares: Lavender Explosion, Snowflake & Flowers

  1. Txcty says:

    I absolutely LOVE the snowflake…can see that around about the fireplace at Christmastime….beautiful!

  2. Txcty says:

    I’m thinking afghan :O). Gorgeous!

  3. Celia says:

    The squares are absolutely beautiful – I need to get the book and start a journal of sqaures of my own. What kind of yarn are you using? The colors are wonderful and the red and white one is so………they are all too good for words!!!

    • don_mae says:

      Celia, thank you!!

      Mostly I use Lion Brand, Vanna’s Choice acrylic yarn. I like their color selection. And now they have the new “Baby” yarn. I love the colors. I also like Patons wool yarn. And I will use Red Heart if I can’t find the color I want in Vanna’s Choice.

      Can’t wait for you to get the book and get started. It’s addicting, for sure.

  4. lynda says:

    Me encantan tus grannys. Lastima que no sepa hablar en ingles, pero sigo tu blog. Saludos desde Canarias.

    • DeeDee says:

      Lynda Said: I love your granny squares. It’s a shame that I don’t speak English, but I follow your blog. Greetings from the Canary Islands.

      Para Lynda: Tambien sigo este blog. Que alegria me dio ver que vives en Las Islas Canarias. Hace 27 anos, vivi 6 meses en Tenerife. Soy bailarina flamenca and trabaje por 6 meses en el Tablao Martianez. Espero ver mas comentarios tuyos aqui en este blog. DeeDee Nunez

      • don_mae says:

        Wow, DeeDee!! I had no idea what the comment was saying and had intended to go to Google to translate it. Thanks so much for doing this. You are a sweetie. I received your e-mail and will help where I can. Let me play around with the star and see what I can come up with. Excellent project, BTW.

        Thank you, Lynda, very much….

  5. don_mae says:

    Thank you so much everyone. Really appreciate your comments.

  6. Quilty says:

    You are so very talented, Donna. Those would make up into a beautiful afghan. What’s more… I’m sure you would make an exceptional quilter too, if you put even half as much effort into learning to make quilts as you have done into crochet and beadwork!

Leave a comment