Recycle #10: Coasters Made From Old Cutting Mat


Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Hey, wait!! Don’t toss your old worn out cutting mat.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Cut it up and make some really cute coasters.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Want to make your own? You only need a few supplies. Which you probably already have. Now Go. Collect up this stuff.


Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Sturdy, heavy duty scissors
Fabric/Thread
Iron-on interfacing
Ruler/measuring tool


DIRECTIONS TO MAKE CUTTING MAT COASTERS

Cut Up Cutting Mat

Decide on dimensions for your coasters and cut mat into workable pieces.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Next, cut the sizes you want from the larger pieces. I made a template from an old VCR cassette case.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Round the corners so the ends won’t poke through your fabric pouch.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


Fabric/Interfacing

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Determine the size of the fabric needed by laying mat down on top of folded fabric.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Allow about an inch on the bottom and also one side. (Will only have a seam on one side.) Leave about 1 1/2″ at the top where mat will be inserted.

Iron on the interfacing. (I used Fusible Fleece for some and lightweight Pellon for others.)

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


Sewing

Sew down one side and along the bottom (1/2″ seams, you can trim later). Backstitch beginning and ending stitches.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Test it by slipping your mat inside the fabric pouch to make sure it fits OK. You may have to “squeeze” your mat to ease it inside.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

While the mat is inside the pouch, turn down the cuff to get an idea of how much top you have to work with.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

If you are happy, remove mat, turn pouch right side out, gently poke out the corners, fold the top down along your prefolded lines. Press. Slip mat back inside pouch.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Sew up the top opening either by sewing machine or by hand. I did mine by machine (with the mat inside). Use matching or coordinating thread. I tried both.

And done!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

You can use your scraps, too. Quilt or leave plain. Make them in lots of sizes and colors. Coordinate with coffee mugs and give as gift sets.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Take them to work, use at home. Great for the kiddies. If they spill something on the coaster, sponge it off with liquid dish detergent, rinse, blot with a paper towel, air dry. And ready to put back in use.

So easy to make, inexpensive. And Think Green. You are putting reusable materials back into circulation instead of contributing to an unsightly landfill.

Don’t have a sewing machine. No problem. You can hand sew these if you do not own one.

And what a great project for kids!! Have fun recycling.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


Fabric Note: The scissors fabric I used is called Half Moon by Moda. I have it in all the colors you see up above.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I found this navy scissors fabric at JoAnn’s.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Don’t love it as much as Half Moon, but I still like it. Will use it in a project soon.


Still more October finishes to show you. Do come back. Thanks much for visiting me!!


Linking to…

http://richardquilts.blogspot.com/2012/11/laff-40.html

http://www.confessionsofafabricaddict.blogspot.com/2012/11/can-i-get-whoop-whoop-lets-hear-it-for_9.html

http://www.sew-much-ado.com/2012/11/we-did-it-wednesday.html

18 comments on “Recycle #10: Coasters Made From Old Cutting Mat

  1. Wonderful. Love your little project. Thanks so much for the great tute.

  2. I love that! Such a wonderful project!

  3. Crystal says:

    Hi Donna!
    Read this post and then went back to the beginning of it to see a photo once more . . . Next, I quickly scrolled down to the bottom so I could leave this comment – but by the time I got there the photos of the scissors fabric flying by had me feeling dizzy! lol

    Great example of recycling. You are definitely the recycling maven with all of your creative uses for scraps and do-dads. Please remind me about the frames you took from the office? I remember you made something very clever with them. šŸ™‚
    (Sorry I haven’t been by lately – our power was out too.)

    • don_mae says:

      Crystal, Crystal… you made me laugh. Hope you aren’t feeling dizzy any longer. Don’t scroll so FAST!! LOL!!

      You remembered my frames project, did ya. I am going to be showing the frames in a couple days for one of my October projects I finished. But you can see them here. Thanks for asking!!

  4. Lennette says:

    What a clever idea! I think all of us that quilt eventually find ourselves with a worn out cutting mat, and that’s a wonderful way to recycle it!

  5. Paula Lee M. says:

    What a great Idea!

  6. gabrielaquintana says:

    Great project, Donna!
    I thought in green too this weekend.
    Look this coasters I made with plastic bags:
    http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/267/posavasos.jpg/

  7. Belinda says:

    What a great idea, Donna! I have a worn out cutting mat and lots of scraps–fabric and interfacing scraps–so this sounds like a great idea! I have said it before and I will say it again; your creativity never ceases to amaze me!

  8. Ana Lopes says:

    Just gorgeous!!! Love the idea and the colours of fabrics! Thanks so much for sharing the great tutorial! I’d love for you to visit my blog.
    Happy week!

    Hugs from Portugal,

    Ana Love Craft
    http://www.lovecraft2012.blogspot.com

  9. krista says:

    cool idea! my rotary mat still has lots of life left in it, but if it ever gets tough looking i’ll keep this idea in mind! i’ve noticed a lot of copy-cat prints at joanns lately, those scissors are pretty cute!

  10. Fantastic idea! I will keep it in mind! Thanks for sharing.

  11. don_mae says:

    Thank you for your comment love. I love all of ya!!

    I go through cutting mats so fast that I always have a new one in the waiting. I guess I am heavy handed. Even with a new cutting blade I have to press down hard. Thanks goodness for JoAnn’s 50% off coupons. I couldn’t afford them any other way. šŸ˜€

  12. Karen says:

    Wow, what a great idea! My cutting mat is close to being worn out, but I am still using it. Maybe Santa will bring me a new one this year! šŸ™‚ Love the coasters!

  13. cheryliowa says:

    Sure wish my cutting mat would wear out. Great idea.

  14. Debi M says:

    I have one that warped on me. I now use it below my hot glue projects so I dont get hot glue on my ironing board.

Leave a comment