Text Fabric Project: I LOVE Fabric With Words… Look What I Made


My latest obsession… buying fabric with words.

Text fabric. Script fabric. Word fabric. It doesn’t even have an official name that I know of. When I first started searching the net for it almost two years ago, I didn’t have much luck. I searched on whatever I thought it might be called. All sorts of unrelated hits returned. So I just kept putting in what I thought the seller would have used for key words. Still just a few returned.

BUT today, text fabric has EXPLODED. It is everywhere!! You can find it searching on words fabric, fabric with words, fabric printed words, printed words fabric, words printed on fabric, script fabric. Anything with the word “word”. Fabric words.

This is what I have accumulated thus far and there is no telling how high the stack will get. Sigh… 😦

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

But I am happy as a pig playing in slop. 😀 Every week I find a word fabric I just have to have. Even Numbers. I love those with numbers too.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Are you ready for my Ta-Dah Moment? Here they are. This is what I spent one whole week making last month. 4 baskets, 4 mug rugs, 7 pincushions.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

There’s green fabric with words about apples. Purple, dusty lavender and navy fabric with cursive letters with a language unfamiliar to me. No clue what they are saying. I am thinking they are random letters strung together. I just like the looks of them. Hope those aren’t cuss words. 😀

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I started with a 21″ square of white muslin and sewed varying widths of strips quilt-as-you-go style.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Then cut it in half.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

One half was used for the basket.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

The second half was cut up into squares and used for the mug rug and pincushion.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I was so delighted with how the first set came out that I decided to take whatever time necessary to make three more sets. And I will probably make more later.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

See the coasters I made from my old worn out cutting mat. I haven’t found a dusty lavender mug yet but I have my eyes peeled for one. I need it to complete my set.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I will be putting these sets in my Etsy Shop.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Still more October finishes to show you. My string circles and my pillowcases. Coming up!!

Do come back and thank you!! Also I want to send out a Big Thank You to all of my e-mail blog readers. This week I reached 300. Thank you so much!!


Linking to…

http://crazymomquilts.blogspot.com/2012/11/finish-it-up-friday-11912.html

http://richardquilts.blogspot.com/2012/11/laff-40.html

http://www.confessionsofafabricaddict.blogspot.com/2012/11/can-i-get-whoop-whoop-lets-hear-it-for_9.html

http://www.conniekresin.com/2012/11/linky-party-tuesday.html

http://www.sew-much-ado.com/2012/11/we-did-it-wednesday.html

16 comments on “Text Fabric Project: I LOVE Fabric With Words… Look What I Made

  1. sonnethawk says:

    You are one busy little beaver! You never cease to amaze me with your creativity! Great job! Keep up the good work!

  2. WOW! Look at all that stuff!! So cute! Love the colors.

  3. Connie says:

    Cute projects, I can see why you had fun making more…..and more! Thanks for sharing.
    Freemotion by the River Linky Party Tuesday

  4. Caryl W says:

    These are really cute projects…makes me want to go look for fabric with words!!

  5. Lennette says:

    Everything looks gorgeous Donna!!!!! I can’t tell you how much I love love love reading your blog and seeing all of the wonderful things that you make!!!

  6. Fran says:

    Donna you are just soooo creative. I love your blog.

  7. Crystal says:

    So, so pretty!
    And there’s that cute “frames” planter! 😀
    Are you doing a craft fair this year? You sure have some wonderful items to fill a table!

    • don_mae says:

      Thanks, Crystal.

      Nope, no craft fairs for me this year. I had a disappointing last few years so I didn’t sign up for any. They are fun to do and hopefully one day I will be able to sell again at them. What about you? Are you doing any this month or next?

  8. Jean in MN says:

    I really love your little baskets. How clever!

  9. Emma Parker says:

    I, too, love fabrics with words. Your projects are quite charming!

  10. Nice work! It is good you have an outlet for your text fabric fascination and they look great!

  11. Karen says:

    Fabric with words has become my latest obsession as well – I have been looking for black words on a white or cream background. Anyhow, your projects are wonderful – I love them all! 🙂

  12. Pam says:

    Very creative! I love all of these.

  13. Duroseau says:

    Why users still make use of to read news papers when in this technological world everything is available on web?|

Leave a Reply

