Selvage Christmas Tree Mug Rug


Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Since I already had my selvages spread all over my craft tables, it made sense that I would keep working with them, right.

So many ideas. Little zippered bags. Birthday cake mug rug. Christmas Tree.

Ah. Christmas Tree. Perfect for this time of year. That’s what I decided to make.

So easy since the selvage strips are mostly the length I needed. A few needed a chop here and a fussy cut there. Two of these strips have a personal meaning.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

First, the MBT at the top. Though this is name of the fabric manufacturer, to me it represents my first full time job. At Michigan Bell Telephone Company. One of the Baby Bells. (Which is now history. Just a memory.) Started there in November 1967. Ended up staying 18 years.

And second. The one with the words Telegraph Road. So happens we have a Telegraph Road in our area. It is a major, major main road. Like a mini expressway. Go fast or leave your car at home. I learned to drive on that road. I have fond memories of all the middle fingers some very nice people used to thrust up at me.

OK… I think that is enough of going Down Memory Lane. πŸ˜€

Back to my tree. After deciding which selvages to use, I stitched them down to white quilted fabric. I love this stuff.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I bought it at JoAnn’s about five years ago. Never could decide what to use it for. Just perfect for this project.

The side borders were easy too. I auditioned a few searching for something Christmasy that was long enough.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And settled on these three. Quilting was Stitch-In-The-Ditch following the grid lines of the quilted fabric.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

The backing was a piece of Christmas fabric pulled from my scraps. Used the same for the binding.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I put little triangle tabs on the back so it can be hung on the wall.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And done!! Mug rug or wall hanging.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

My favorite. How sweet is this little selvage.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I have more in the works. Unless I get bored, the plan is to make about six trees before Christmas. To give as gifts or put in my Etsy shop.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

If you have any selvages, try it yourself. Make up a few of these trees. Quick and cute!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


Linking to…

http://crazymomquilts.blogspot.com/2012/11/finish-it-up-friday-11212.html

http://www.confessionsofafabricaddict.blogspot.com/2012/11/can-i-get-whoop-whoop-lets-hear-it-for_2.html

http://www.conniekresin.com/2012/10/linky-party-tuesday_30.html

http://sewhappygeek.co.uk/index.php/2012/10/30/manic-monday-linky-party-50/

http://www.sew-much-ado.com/2012/10/we-did-it-wednesday_30.html

http://richardquilts.blogspot.com/2012/11/link-finish-friday-39.html

http://bowdabrablog.com/2012/11/03/saturday-showcase-craft-project-linky-5/

16 comments on “Selvage Christmas Tree Mug Rug

  1. Really cute idea!
    I went down memory lane with you…. way back in the day, my first “real” job after high school was as a long distance operator. Funny, I hadn’t thought of that in years!

  2. What a great use for selvages. And I love how you chose ones that had special meaning for you!

  3. Deb says:

    How cute is this! Love it. You have a really fun looking blog…

  4. Lynette says:

    Now, that’s just cute πŸ˜€ Selvages make a really neat little tree!

  5. Lennette says:

    What a great idea and so cute!!!! You are so creative and crafty!!!

  6. P. says:

    That is adorable! Very cool use of selvages.

  7. What a cute idea! I love how the color number circles look like ornaments! I’ll be pinning to my board for you πŸ™‚

  8. charlotte says:

    Very cute idea. I am going to remember this one!

  9. Ana Lopes says:

    So lovely idea !!! I’ll try to make one of this with the selvages that I had keep along time! Thanks so much for sharing the great tutorial! I’d love for you to visit my blog.
    Happy weekend!

    Hugs from Portugal,

    Ana Love Craft
    http://www.lovecraft2012.blogspot.com

  10. Crystal says:

    So creative and cute as can be! πŸ™‚
    Love it!!!!

  11. don_mae says:

    Hi everyone and THANK YOU for stopping by. πŸ˜€

    I am truly in love with selvages now. I have them on my brain and have been jotting down future projects. I hope I don’t run out of selvages.

    • Betty says:

      Hi Donna

      You are so busy. The colors are so pretty. Do you have a Christmas table runner with napkins and place mats? (medium size runner) Can you show them on our blog? I need something for my Aunt.

      • don_mae says:

        Hi Betty, I don’t have much Christmas stuff made up. Don’t have the set you are looking for. Wish I did.

  12. This is adorable! I have a stack of Christmas fabric that is about to be selvage-less πŸ™‚

  13. Donna says:

    These are awesome!

Leave a Reply

