Christmas In July Mug Rug Set


Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I guess it is OK to show you this now. It has been mailed and opened by the recipient. You got a sneak peek last week of the fabrics but I couldn’t show you what I was making. Didn’t want my Christmas In July Secret Sister in my quilt group to see it. She reads my blog.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Anyhoo… I found this set at JoAnn’s in December last year. A Christmas mug with matching hanging metal plaque.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.comImage Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I couldn’t resist. Too cute and perfect for gift giving. The decision to make a mug rug was made a couple days before the mailout deadline. So I had to work quickly. Pieced together the blocks and got it made. No time for stepping away to look at it throughout the process to see if I liked it. Like I usually do. Just sew and go.

Started off with these blocks. (Actually I was practicing for something I would make later.)

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

The “X” in the center was purely by accident. When I saw it, I thought, hmmm, could stand for the X in the abbreviated spelling of Christmas. XMAS.

Added scallops and dots.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Quilting was fast and easy too. Diagonal lines across the surface of the mug rug. Then arched lines following the edges of the ironed on scallops. And lastly, double circles inside the dots. Steam-A-Seam2 held them in place as I sewed. I love that stuff!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I like how it came out. No pattern. Made it up as I went. The scallops and dots idea came from the mug.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Had I allowed more time, I would have figured out how to add a flat fabric bow down the center. Adding buttons was considered. But I kept thinking they might cause a spill and I certainly didn’t want that. So, no buttons. Would have been cute though, right?

I had fun making the mug rug to go with the Crafty Christmas Set. Hope my Secret Sister likes it!!


Linking to…

http://www.confessionsofafabricaddict.blogspot.com/2012/07/can-i-get-whoop-whoop-fun-in-sun-and.html

http://conniekresin.blogspot.com/2012/07/linky-party-tuesday-23.html

21 comments on “Christmas In July Mug Rug Set

  1. Donna S. says:

    Yes!!! I was the lucky one to receive this wonderful gift!!! Can’t wait until the holidays to show it off!! It’s even prettier in person!!
    Thank you so much Donna!!!

    Thanks again so much! Donna S.

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Donna!! It was hard keeping it a secret. I wanted to blog about it immediately, LOL!! But wanted you to see it first. So glad you like it.

      I was so excited and wanted to get it mailed that I forgot to take measurements of the mug rug for my sewing journal. I log everything I make. If you get a chance, please e-mail them to me.

      Thanks much!!

  2. Lennette says:

    That set is so awesome Donna!!!!!!!

  3. Margaret says:

    I love the set. I would like to have a set just like it!

  4. Mary W says:

    Great job. I love the mug rug! So cute.

  5. Connie says:

    How cute! I love the little scallop you added! Starting with no pattern can be so much fun! Thanks for sharing. What a perfect match for the cup!
    Quilting at the River Linky Party Tuesday

  6. Sue Daurio says:

    That is very sweet. Love the mug rug and the cup to match.

  7. Carol says:

    OMGosh!!! that is soo coool!! I love that you made a mat to match the mug and did it so perfectly. I think you should change your name to Princess Patchwork.
    xx, Carol

  8. Crystal says:

    LOVE it, Donna!
    What a wonderful gift!
    Hope Santa brings something just as fabulous for YOU!

    • don_mae says:

      Santa did!! I received some wonderful items. About 10 of them in a Christmas stocking.

      Thanks much!!

  9. Fran says:

    Donna Very creative and also very beautiful Great job.

  10. Shanna says:

    What a great set! I love sewing mug rugs free-form, so much creativity comes out in such small items, don’t you think?

  11. don_mae says:

    Thank you, everyone. I loved reading your comments on my mug rug set. I had fun making it.

  12. don_mae says:

    Margaret, yes, I will. Thanks!!

  13. Pattilou says:

    What an adorable set. You’ve outdone yourself. It is so cute!

  14. Brita says:

    Cute as can be, clever girl!

  15. Sarah C. says:

    That is so cute!! You did a great job, and thanks so much for sharing your process! Whoop whoop!!

  16. KatieQ says:

    If you had not explained your process, I would have assumed you used a pattern that came with the mug and plaque. That’s a great swap gift.

Leave a comment