Pinwheels and Swirling Stars


Uh, OH… I think I am in LOVE!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Being the procrastinator that I am, it shouldn’t surprise you (or me) that I have spent the last two days working on a project that is due for mail out tomorrow. 😀

I am making pinwheel and swirling star blocks. For July’s Block Lotto in my quilt group.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I almost didn’t sign up. Since I suck at anything with points to line up. But decided how will I ever learn if I don’t try and go outside my comfort zone.

And guess what?

Making the pinwheels was easier than I thought. These were my first ones. Not hard. But I had to be oh so careful trimming them and making sure the seams matched perfectly to the 45 degree lines. Thankfully I have a revolving cutting mat. It worked great.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

The amazing part about this project is how the same blocks produce two completely different looks. Sew four blocks and I get a pinwheel.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

The leftover four blocks (from the original Half-Square-Triangles) PLUS four rectangles and one little square in the center and I get a swirling star. I love how the swirling star turned out.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I will make up a few more sets and get them mailed tomorrow.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Then I am going to make up some scrappy swirling star blocks. Just to see how they turn out. I have plenty of scraps. A boatload. I have enjoyed this project. Who knew!! Lesson learned. Try it. You might like it!!


In case you are wondering how my umbrella quilt is coming along, I haven’t worked on the back yet. Still deciding on what I want. I tried these HUGE strips. For one huge umbrella. Hate it!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I went to JoAnn’s a couple days ago and bought these purple fabrics. These might work.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

At least they will add color. I really do want an umbrella for the back. Got to figure it out.


And no, I haven’t let my pillowcase project fall by the wayside. Since I can whip them out pretty fast, I have been setting aside a couple days a month and playing catch up. I have 17 pillowcases ready for French seams.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And I gathered up a pile of fabrics for the next pillowcase marathon.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Probably will do seven more for an even 24 and then get them mailed off one day this week. It is still a fun project. So I will keep it going for as long as I can.

So… what have you been up to? Do tell. 😀


Update 7-23-12: I finished three sets.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


Linking to…

http://www.confessionsofafabricaddict.blogspot.com/2012/07/can-i-get-whoop-whoop-fun-in-sun-and.html

http://sewhappygeek.co.uk/index.php/2012/07/23/manic-monday-linky-party-44/

http://www.craft-o-maniac.com/2012/07/party-time-craftomaniac-monday.html

9 comments on “Pinwheels and Swirling Stars

  1. Lennette says:

    I absolutely love those blocks!!!!! Your fabric choices are gorgeous!!!

  2. Belinda says:

    Donna, as usual, you have created a wonderful design! You never cease to amaze me with your creative talent! 🙂 I don’t match points very well either, which is why I stay away from this type of quilt block myself. Your points look like they match very well to me. 🙂

  3. don_mae says:

    Hi Lennette!! Hi Belinda!! Love seeing comments from you guys. Thank you!!

    What are you making? Sure wish I could see.

  4. Carol says:

    Wow…The pinwheel/star is a fab pattern. I love it. I always admire your piecing. You match those seams so perfectly. Me..well I think that’s why I am liking Crazy Quilt…I make up my own pieces.

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Carol, thanks so much. The star was easy to make. Easier that matching up the points of the pinwheel.

  5. Brita says:

    Love how you played with those blocks to create something totally different! Pretty 🙂

  6. Sarah C. says:

    I love those RW&B blocks – particularly the first one you showed – great design!! Whoop whoop!!

  7. Sara Strange says:

    I am seeing swirling stars now—–hehehehe that is my favorite one!

  8. don_mae says:

    Thank you Sarah C (Whoop, whoop!!) and Sara S, I love that star design too.

    Brita, I wish I could claim credit for designing the block but I made it from someone else’s instructions. So cute and fast to make.

    If anyone wants the directions, let me know. I will e-mail them.

Leave a Reply

