“MAY” Round Up… The Big Eye


Updated 7-18-12.

When I was little and piled more food on my plate than I could possibly eat, my mom would say I had the “big eye.”

When AmandaJean at Crazy Mom Quilts posted her May Small Projects Sew-a-long, I signed on thinking what a perfect time to work on recent unfinished projects plus a few back burners. http://crazymomquilts.blogspot.com/2012/05/small-projects-sew-along.html

So, I made up my list. Will Do and Want To Do’s.

WILL DO

  • Download embroidery designs from my PC to sewing machine
  • Embroider one design, maybe two
  • Faux Chenille quilt finished
  • One handbag with grommets finished 6-9-12
  • Machine Felting, start one project finished two projects
  • Work on Umbrella quilt finished quilt top -6 blocks 7-18-12
  • Make more zippered bags four finished

WANT TO DO

  • Finish 4th of July Picnic Blanket/Table Runner/D9P Finished 6-25-12
  • Make pincushion inspired by coffee mug Made two 6-18-12
  • Work on Game Boards for Family Reunion
  • Work on black/white/red Postage Stamp Quilt Panel #2 made, 6-5-12.
  • Finish Attic Window Bird Cage pillow

But guess what happened? Yep. You guessed it.

I HAD THE BIG EYE.

I was only able to cross off TWO items. How embarrassing!! But it certainly wasn’t for the lack of trying. (I will tell you more about that in a minute.)

One thing not on my two lists received the most attention. My charity pillowcase project I recently started. Throughout May I sewed and sewed and ended up finishing 41 pillowcases. I timed making one pillowcase and if piecing wasn’t necessary and I could just cut and sew, it took me exactly one hour. Piecing added an extra 30 minutes or longer. So roughly I would say I devoted about 50 hours making pillowcases. That included fabric selection, ironing and preparation time. But seeing them finished, folded and ready to ship brought me so much joy. Many smiles. I was delighted to donate the time and materials.

Here they are.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.comImage Hosting by PictureTrail.comImage Hosting by PictureTrail.com

In between making pillowcases, I managed to make one quilted handbag. The plan was to add grommets (and then I could have crossed it off my list) but I ended up using wooden handles instead. 😦

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

One thing on the WILL DO list I completed was this little zippered bag. 😀

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

It goes with the handbag.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And even though my Faux Chenille finished quilt/blanket was for a DOLL, I am crossing it off anyway. I went through the entire process. Learned it, sewed it, finished it. And have plans to make a larger one this month.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

So.. those were my two On-The-List finishes.


OK. Now let me tell you about my PROJECT ATTEMPTS.

I spent HOURS trying to figure out how to download embroidery designs to my Janome MC 10001 sewing machine.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Everyday I would search the net, search Janome’s web site. Nothing I tried worked. The culprit? My operating system. Using my USB cable that came with my sewing machine, I could not automatically find the required drivers. And a manual search didn’t find them either. The program fix I found at Janome didn’t work. Because I have a 64 bit (????) system and the USB connected download only works with 32 bits. So… I am really frustrated right now. After I cool off (don’t want to be mean and cuss at the poor sewing center workers), I plan to take it all in and demand ask for help. Hopefully sometime this month I will be able to embroider one of the digital designs I bought five years ago.

Another item on my list that I can say a bit of progress was made was learning about my Janome Xpression Felting Machine.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I have had it, I think, about 4-5 years. And never used it. I can proudly say, I am now more familiar with it, the tools and the process. More so than ever. I spent HOURS (about as many as on the embroidery issue) reading my manual, searching the net, watching how-to videos. I am certain I will be able to complete a machine felted project in June. How’s that!! One Machine Felted Item Coming Up!!

Though I only managed to finish two items on my list, I still count May as a success because of what I DID finish. (Photos below if not above)

41 charity pillowcases
2 pillowcases for me
1 doll pillowcase
1 quilted handbag
1 zippered clutch
1 faux chenille doll blanket
1 doll ruffled pillow
1 little girl’s purse

Free Image Hosting at www.picturetrail.com Free Image Hosting at www.picturetrail.com Free Image Hosting at www.picturetrail.com Free Image Hosting at www.picturetrail.com Free Image Hosting at www.picturetrail.com


Well, that does it for me. How about you? Did you complete your May projects?


Linking to:

http://crazymomquilts.blogspot.com/2012/06/small-projects-sew-along-finale.html

7 comments on ““MAY” Round Up… The Big Eye

  1. Nicole says:

    41 pillowcases! Wow! Even though you didn’t get everything done on your list, you still accomplished a lot. Kudos!

    I too didn’t get everything done on my list. I was a bit ambitious I know. And I’m not going to beat myself up about it.

    BTW, love that “big eye” saying. I may have to use that with my kids!

  2. Carol says:

    My mom used to say “your eyes are bigger than your stomach”.

    My computer has “64 bit” operating system too. I have a lot of issues with Flash that sometimes become VERY irritating.

    You certainly do accomplish a lot. I have given up listing my wants and want tos. I am happy when I find time to sew. Currently I divide my time between my room and my garden. I live for summer!!

    Your pillow case stack is AWESOME!!
    xx, Carol

  3. Ali Hughes says:

    Wow! How great are those pillow cases? I just learned more about charity pillow cases today and I really have a mind to start working with some. Those are fast and easy projects and full of love and color for those who need them! Thank you for sharing. 🙂

  4. don_mae says:

    Another thing my mom used to say is… “you bit off more than you can chew.”

    After looking over my two lists of to-do’s, it looks like I did just that. Looking at it makes me tired. LOL!! I have taken a rest break for a couple days but will be back at it today or tomorrow.

    Thanks much for your nice comments on my pillowcases and my other projects. Really appreciate you stopping by. 😀

  5. wow – 41 charity pillow cases? I’d say that for each person who gets one, you were 100% successful. Does this mean a 4100% success rate? Re: overambitious list-making, I was taught goal = 110% * maximum expectations and happy = 80% * goal.

  6. Linda says:

    Wow! 41 pillowcases,. wonderful! I love them all, especially the elephant print 🙂

  7. amandajean says:

    i always have the big eye, as you put it, LOL!!!

    you did spectacular! 41 pillow cases alone is amazing. you should pat yourself on the back!

    thanks for joining in and for linking up your list. 🙂

Leave a comment