A Ta-Dah Moment… Look At My Chenille


Look at this. How did I do?

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

To say I am pleased with the outcome would be an understatement. I am up on my rooftop waving it like a flag. Come see!! And shouting. I want all of my neighbors to see my Faux Chenille doll quilt. 😀

But seriously… not bad, huh, for my first one?

Don’t know if you have ever tried making chenille but I was surprised (actually shocked) that it didn’t shed in the wash. For real!! I had some casual tops that needed washing but was afraid the cut strips would unravel and mess them up. So I threw in five towels to keep the quilt company as it swished round and round in the wash. Not a single thread on the towels. And only a teeny tiny bit of lint in the lint tray. The chenille crinkled up more in the dryer. I am thinking after one more washing the inside color should open up. But I love it!! Just as it is.

And of course a little girl has to accessorize her doll quilt. She needs a ruffled doll pillow. Made with the leftover scraps.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And a cute little purse for herself.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Could be reversible.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Well, that was fun. Now it is time to tackle a larger faux chenille. Baby quilt size.

These are the fabrics I selected. I will start cutting today. Wish me luck!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

10 comments on “A Ta-Dah Moment… Look At My Chenille

  1. Lisa Downing says:

    I love the chenille blanket! You are a wonderful quilter and – absolutely prolific! It is such fun to see what you make. LisaD in upstate NY

  2. Molly says:

    Wow! So cute! Great job.

  3. Lennette says:

    It’s adorable Donna!!!! I love it!!!!

  4. Carol says:

    It looks terrific!! and so is the purse. I absolutely adore that blanket.

  5. Shan says:

    Great job, Donna!! I’ve had the materials staring at me for a year and a half, waiting for me to get “a round tuit!” LOL! I really need to make the quilt before my granddaughter gets to college! 😉

  6. don_mae says:

    Thanks for the wonderful comments. Luv them all!!

    I am measuring fabric for the larger quilt. Hopefully I can get started sewing tomorrow. I am so excited trying to decide which to make the top fabric.

  7. Crystal says:

    It’s gorgeous, Donna!
    The whole set looks like a photo of Christmas morning from the old Sears Wish Book! You remember that catalog? (Please say “yes!” I don’t want to be the only one that is – um – mature enough to remember it. 🙂 )

    The Wish Book came out near the holidays each year and it was kind of skinny next to the big Sears catalog – but it was filled with TOYS!!! As a kid, I loved to sit and look at EVERY page and turn down the corners of pages with items I liked and dream/hope that a couple of the items might possibly find their way under our Christmas tree. 🙂

    The pages with baby dolls and their wardrobes, blankets, dishes, etc. were among my favorites.

    I sure would have turned down a page that showed your pretty doll set! 😀

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Crystal, YES, I do remember. I remember drooling over all the toys and wishing, dreaming. What fun!! Ah, the good ol’ days!! I have been thinking about what else I can do with chenille. Thanks much.

  8. Deb says:

    So cute! I knew this one would turn out well. 🙂 Love the ruffles on the pillow case too!

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Debra, thanks so much. I had never heard of it and doubt I would have without you sending me that link. It is so soft. I love it. Now I have to figure out what else I can make.

Leave a Reply

