Jeweltone Scrap Quilt: Ready To Assemble


Reveal time….

Layout 1. Sashing between color strips.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Layout 2. Different color arrangement. No sashing between color strips.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I can’t decide which way is better. I like the clean look of Layout 2 (no sashing between colors) but it is certainly going to be time consuming to perfectly line up the horizontal black polka dot borders.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Which way do you like? What color would be your center?

9 comments on “Jeweltone Scrap Quilt: Ready To Assemble

  1. Dorothy says:

    I would go with the easier one. Both look good. But I actually like the sashing between each row

  2. Crystal says:

    I like the wine/burgundy in the middle – the way you had it on your Nov.10th post. Of course, if you add a blue section, that might change my mind. 😉

    Isn’t it great how a blog can be a wonderful way to capture the planning and the progress of your creations. It’s a great “scrapbook” for both your words and your photos. 🙂

  3. KipperCat says:

    I like layout 1, perhaps because in layout 2 the horizontal borders don’t show up well against the darker colors. The line is very clear as the yellow changes to green, but not so much in the rest of the quilt. The overall pattern is full of vertical and horizontal lines. I don’t see the horizontal lines well without the sashing to separate the main colors.

    Either way, I love the combination of colors!

  4. Deb says:

    I like them both, but I think my favorite is the second one. The colors layout is a bit unexpected compared to the first one. I like surprises. 🙂

    But! They both look great!

  5. don_mae says:

    Uh, Oh…

    Back to the drawing board. Hubby said my quilt looks like 5 table cloths. LOL!!

  6. Lennette says:

    I love what you’re doing with the blocks Donna! I like the layout of #1. By having sashing in between each of the rows, you give the eye a place to “rest” which allows you to see all the details of each row more clearly. That’s just my opinion. I absolutely love what you’ve done with all of your scraps!!!

  7. don_mae says:

    Thank you, everyone.

    I gave my quilt a couple days rest. To regroup and rethink the layout. I changed it around and think I have recaptured the scrappyness of what I was trying for. I left in the sashing between strips so the eye has a place to pause. So many different fabrics and colors. I hope I still like it when I am done. 😀

    I love you guys!! Thanks for the tips.

Leave a Reply

