Making Hanging Fabric Baskets To Go With My Table Runner


Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

It’s been over a week since I showed you my Quilt-As-You-Go Table Runner I was working on. Made with different widths of fabric strips. I love working with strips. This one uses navy, avocado and pink fabrics.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

The back is a Fat Quarter that I found at JoAnn’s months ago and loved the colors. It was my inspiration fabric and my runner was built around it.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I finished the runner sometime last weekend but didn’t show you because I had another idea.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

With plenty of strips left, I decided to make Hanging Fabric Baskets. Like those I had seen on the net.

I found several sites with basically the same steps to make these baskets. (I borrowed this photo from The Mother Huddle site.)

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I followed along with the instructions. Made a few changes. You know me. I had to put my own spin on it. I wanted it sturdier. I tried several ways and finally got it to work as I envisioned. By using very thick Pellon.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I sewed a strip of it inside on the bottom of the outside fabric.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And also inserted a circle of thick Pellon right before inserting the lining.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Next, I folded down the outside fabric so about a half inch of the inside lining would show.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I even added an extra strip of heavy Pellon connecting the bottom of the circle.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

It makes the bottom even sturdier. As you can see in this photo.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

It was fun making these baskets. I am going to make a couple of smaller ones. (Still have more strips.) 😀

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


Go here for the instructions to both the table runner and hanging basket. There are three for the hanging baskets. I used the first one.

http://www.diaryofaquilter.com/2010/08/table-runner-tutorial.html

http://www.themotherhuddle.com/tutorial-hanging-fabric-baskets-or-pockets/

http://www.themotherhuddle.com/hanging-fabric-storage-baskets/

http://sewplicity.blogspot.com/2010/09/tutorial-hanging-fabric-basket.html

Leave a comment