How To Extend (Add On) Macrame Cord Ends

At some point, you will run into this problem. You are happily macraming along and your cord ends BEFORE your project ends.

You are faced with….

WHAT TO DO!!!

Scrap the project, cut new cords and start over. Not your first choice, I am sure. Many hours invested down the drain.

Well, you don’t have to scrap projects any longer due to a mistake in measuring and cutting the cord. I will show you how to add on, extend the cords so you can continue tying knots right where you left off.

There are several ways to do this.

  1. extend by sewing cord ends together using thread
  2. extend by sewing cord ends together using your project cord
  3. fusing cord ends together

I usually prefer method #1 best BUT when there is a chance the patched spot can’t be buried successfully, I use method #2.ย  I have never tried fusing cords since I don’t own a fusing tool. I would probably try it, if I had one.

OK, now let me show you the two ways I use.


Supplies Needed:

  • regular sewing needle for method #1
  • sewing or embroidery needle with slightly wider opening for method #2
  • sewing thread to match your project for method #1
  • 10″ length of cord to match your project for method #2

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


Directions to Extend (Add On) Macrame Cords Ends

Step 1.

Stop tying knots about 3-4 inches from the cord ends. If not already done so, melt tips to keep cord ends from fraying and also to anchor thread.

Step 2.

Cut the additional cord lengths required to complete your project. Melt tips.

Step 3a – Method #1 – Using Regular Sewing Thread.

Pin cord ends tip to tip on macrame board. Using regular thread, begin sewing from one side to the other. Keep going back and forth several times. Should be strong enough to withstand a good yank. Make sure to keep the cords STRAIGHT.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Step 3b – Method #2 – Using Macrame Cord Strands.

Do same as for Step 3a, except you will use a strand of macrame cord from your project instead of regular thread. (See photo)

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Here’s how the two look. Method #1 on the right and Method #2 on the left.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And here is how they look once I continue tying knots. Can’t spot the patched areas, can you?

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

With practice, you will be able to hide (bury) the sewn sections just as well as I can. Experiment to see which method works best for you.


Added 7-14-10.ย  Another way to add on cords. Go here.

https://thisyearsdozen.wordpress.com/2010/07/14/another-way-to-extend-cord-on-your-macrame-project/

10 comments on “How To Extend (Add On) Macrame Cord Ends

  1. Quilty says:

    Did you need to sterilize those sewing needles first? It looks like they have been passed through a flame. So ‘fess up… what had you previously done with them? ๐Ÿ˜€

    I like your second method best, using fibres of the same cord. Clever one. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. cristy says:

    I’m trying to find instructions to add threads to a macrame project, when I came across your info. It’s brilliant! I’d never have thought of these methods. Thanks for the clear photos too.

  3. Kelly says:

    How strong is this method? Say, if I were making a plant hanger and ran into this problem?

    Thanks!
    Kelly

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Kelly, I have used this method MANY times. Especially when I am designing something and my cord runs out before I finish. Have never had a problem with it coming undone. I just extend the cord and keep going.

      Here are a couple tips. After extending, give the patched cord a good tug to make sure it is secure. Next, make sure to “cover/hide” the patched area with knots. Several knots. Hope this helps. Good luck!!

      • Chrissi Matusevics says:

        I am having a similar problem on a much smaller scale with my outer cords- and they aren’t braided cords they are twisted, will the same method work ?

  4. Nancy says:

    I am making bracelets with rather thin cording (1-2 mm). Any thoughts on how to make them longer? thanks!

  5. Dee says:

    How do I add cord when only one side of the cord has become too short? Making spiral knots. I have no idea how only one cord is shorter

Leave a comment