Getting The Pillow Fever Again


Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I have always loved making pillows. They are just so fun and relaxing to make. Especially when just piecing little squares. But be warned. They can be addicting.

This is my latest one. I spent a week on it. 😀 (I hear you. Stop laughing.)

Here’s what happened… Two weeks ago, I made a table runner from some of my leftover Hugs and Kisses blocks. The blocks were collecting dust in a pile in a corner. I always feel bad when I start a new project without finishing sewing some of the UFO’s. So I gave the X and O blocks a bit of my attention.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Making the runner did not take long since the blocks were already made. Just needed stitching together, borders added and quilted. Simple quilting. Straight lines. Plus a bit of stippling. And done.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Then I decided a pillow was needed to go with the table runner. But had to search high and low for the fabrics used in the X & O blocks. That took a day and ended up with me dismantling one leftover Scrappy Trip block for the exact peach fabric I needed. And then, wouldn’t you know it. I got some sort of stomach bug and ended up being all queasy-stomach sick for five days. Didn’t feel like doing much of anything. Certainly not sewing. At least not for long stretches. I would sew a border and then take a nap. That was my routine for days.

Finally yesterday, I was able to sit in the sewing machine chair longer than the loo chair and managed to work on my pillow. It is made with 2 1/2″ squares and several borders. One border is a strip of squares cut in half. Quilting is diagonal lines.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I put binding all around the sides just as I would a quilt.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

My machine sewn binding is getting SO GOOD, don’t you think? I may never go back to hand sewing.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Before I got sick, I had finished another doll quilt with matching pillow and a little handbag. Never got to show them to you.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

All inspired by one of my leftover Scrappy Trip blocks. I have so many of them left that I could turn each one into a doll quilt. One for each day of the month. But I won’t do that. I have other ideas for them. (Or I could send them to you if anyone wants them.)

I also finished sewing together ten Wonky HST blocks. They sit waiting for their polka dot corners.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

None of my other on-going scrap projects got worked on. Need to do that before month’s end. Got to show some progress, right?

Well, that is it for me. That’s all of my Show and Tell.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

What have you been working on? Do tell….


Linking to.

http://crazymomquilts.blogspot.com/2013/05/pin-cushions.html

http://www.confessionsofafabricaddict.blogspot.com/2013/05/can-i-get-whoop-whoop-lots-of-quilting.html

http://richardquilts.blogspot.com/2013/05/link-finish-friday-68.html

http://aroundtheblockdesigns.blogspot.com/2013/05/really-random-52313-portlandia.html

http://www.sew-much-ado.com/2013/05/we-did-it-wednesday_21.html

12 comments on “Getting The Pillow Fever Again

  1. Everything is just BEAUTIFUL!!! 🙂

  2. Great stuff! New follower here. Found you on Finish It Up Friday at crazymomquilts.

  3. stonepet2013LisaD says:

    Glad you are better! Beautiful pillow and blanket! I love the look of the white borders around the squares. They add real class. Happy quilting. LisaD in upstate NY

  4. You are getting value out of these scraps! Great projects.

  5. Deb says:

    Wonderful as always Donna!

    I just sewed up a new top for a BBQ next weekend. We’re supposed to wear our worst Hawaiian shirts and whatnot, but I wanted to make a really pretty one and I had the perfect fabric in my stash that I’ve had since I was 12 or 13. 🙂

  6. Crystal says:

    Hi Donna!
    LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the doll set! 😀
    (Your pillow is gorgeous, too!) xo

  7. Vicki says:

    Yucky…tummy troubles!! I am so glad that you shared these wonderful finishes with us. The colors are outstanding. Love the HST blocks. Can’t wait to see them completed.

  8. mlwilkie says:

    Wonderful projects

  9. Belinda says:

    Donna, I am so sorry that you got sick! I’ve been sick, too, but with an upper respiratory infection, which is still hanging on a bit.

    I love the stars! I have been making stars, too, using the EZ Star and Geese ruler by Kimberly Einmo. That ruler has helped me make better Flying Geese patches for the star points. My stars aren’t perfect, but I have learned a lot practicing sewing stars. 🙂

    All of your creations are always wonderful and these are no exception! 😀 Everything is beautiful!

  10. Your projects are so stunning! Love the flower on the doll quilt! Hope you are feeling better now!

  11. Sarah Craig says:

    Looks like you’ve been busy! Love your pillow, and that little doll quilt setup is just too cute! And your wonky HST blocks are really neat. You must be making quite a dent in your scrap pile!

    And I’ll take those scrappy trips blocks off your hands if you are serious – I’m trying to get enough made for a king size quilt and it’s taking forever!! You can email me at salliesue (at) clearwire (dot) net.

    Oh yeah – whoop whoop!!

  12. don_mae says:

    Hi everyone, thanks so much for your comments on my pillow/table runner and little doll set. And also my wonky HST’s. My loving of sewing and quilting continues. So, so many projects to work on. I am like a little kid in a candy store.

    Also thank you for the well wishes. I am feeling much better and actually reorganized my sewing room yesterday and did a bit of sewing today. Worked on my wonky HST’s and my big star. Hope to work a bit on each of my projects before the month ends.

    (Belinda: I don’t have that ruler. Will have to check into it. Thanks for the tip.
    LisaD: Almost didn’t recognize you. New ID? 😀
    Sarah: I also received two other requests so will be divvying up the blocks. Thanks for offering to take them.
    Debra: I saw your top on your blog. It’s cute. Have fun at the BBQ.)

    Everyone, have a great and relaxing Memorial Day!!

Leave a Reply

