Binding Day: Done, Done and Done


OK… as you know, I had a “quilting day” last Saturday. It was National Quilting Day. I showed you the three projects I finished quilting.

Well, yesterday was Binding Day.

Binding Project #1.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I used this Michael Miller yellow fabric with huge white dots to bind my little Tea Party rug mug. Binding is 2 1/2″ folded, machine stitched to the front, then machine stitched in the ditch from the front to sew the backside. I pinned from the back and then slowly sewed while keeping an eye on the pins on the underside. I removed the pins as I approached.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I used deep plum thread on the top and yellow bobbin thread. I have to tell ya. I LOVE how this turned out. And definitely will make another.


Binding Project #2.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I bought this WILD fabric (Alexander Henry) a couple years ago and have been auditioning it for many, many projects. But it got tossed back on the shelf more times than not. BUT for this little ticker tape mat, it was perfect.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I was trying for a wider look so I cut the binding 3″. But wish now that I had cut 2 1/2″ instead. It folded up on the back a tad bit more than I wanted. But other than that, it came out ok when I machine stitched the backside.


Binding Project #3.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I call this fabric the “tape measure” fabric because that is what it reminds me of.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

This one I did cut 3″ binding strips and left an eighth inch of batting showing to give the binding a wider look.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Not sure of the brand name/manufacturer for this yellow fabric. Will have to dive into my selvage bin to see if I still have it.

So, that is what I did on my Binding Day.

Have you tried machine stitching the binding back? Or do you prefer to hand stitch the back? Do tell..


Linking up to…

http://crazymomquilts.blogspot.com/2013/03/soft-kitty.html

13 comments on “Binding Day: Done, Done and Done

  1. Roberta says:

    Hand binding!!!

  2. Belinda says:

    I also prefer hand sewing the binding down on the back of the quilt.

  3. don_mae says:

    Hi Roberta and Belinda. I know what you mean. Hand sewn bindings look so nice. The last time I did it, I struggled with the needle and thread so much. Knots every few stitches. And these old eyes aren’t what they used to be. Glad you enjoy it. I used to.

    Thanks for visiting me. :D

    • Belinda says:

      Donna, I like to use Thread Heaven to condition the thread when hand sewing a binding. It isn’t really necessary with some threads, but with others, it helps a lot. Beeswax works well, too. Both products help prevent the thread from knotting or tangling so much. Of course, I am sure that you already knew all this. ;)

      • don_mae says:

        OMG!! I DO have some Thread Heaven!! I use it for beading. Never thought to use it for regular thread. Thanks much. I will have to try it.

  4. megan says:

    I’m all about the machine binding. If done carefully I think it can look very nice. You’ve done a very nice job with yours. Someday I need to try the hand binding :)

  5. Crystal says:

    The results for “Binding Day” are Cute, Cute and Cute :-)
    Love them all!

    I don’t quilt but I do sew and often I will hand sew a small item rather than get out the machine (which is put away when not in use, these days). Used to be it was out all the time, but now I bead more than sew.

  6. mindingmomma says:

    hand sewn

  7. don_mae says:

    Hi Megan, Crystal and Mindingmomma, thanks for posting your preference. I am going to try what Belinda suggested to see if that will stop the knotting.

    Crystal, I know what you mean about the sewing machine being put away. When I was beading, mine was stored under the table. Now the beads are under the table. :D

  8. Fran says:

    Good for you Donna –finishing those projects. I tend to leave them so they become UFO’s. Did you use your new machine for that binding?

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Fran, it felt good to finish up a few things. Didn’t use the new machine for these but have been playing on it. Thanks for stopping by. :D

  9. Fran says:

    Donna I buy Hand sewing Quilting thread to hand sew my bindings with. It is nice and doesn’t tangle. You use to be able to get it at Wally World. Coats and Clark makes it. Works great. Can’t use it on the machine or at least I can’t.

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Fran, I have some of that. It is thicker. Don’t laugh but I bought it to use in my machine but couldn’t thread the needle. LOL!! Thanks. (I will have to go see what colors I have.)

Leave a Reply

