What I Did On National Quilting Day


Last Saturday was National Quilting Day. So, I thought I would stop all that piecing and sewing and quilt something. Something easy. Easy and quick. Nothing like instant gratification to put a smile on your face.

I started with this little mug rug. (It could be a mini wall hanging.)

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I fussy cut the cup from this fabric. I love it!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Simple Log Cabin style. As I was just about finished and ready for the last round, I remembered my American Jane fabric had similar flowers as those around the tea cup. And what do you know. They were perfect. Quilting was a few straight lines. Didn’t want to quilt the tea cup.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

This is the back.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Now just have to decide what to use for the binding. Probably the yellow.


Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Next I quilted this table mat. Triple wavy lines.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I created the mat months ago… from all those small scrap pieces I have lots of. To bring a bit of order to the scrappiness, I purposely mixed in the yellow tape measure fabric here and there.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

The back is just as functional as the front. Tired of the front? Flip it.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

For the binding, if I have enough, I will use the yellow tape measure fabric.


Lastly, I quilted something I started months ago. A ticker tape little quilt with the raw edged pieces sewn on top of pre-quilted white fabric.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

It was the 2nd one I made and had planned to finish it and put both in my Etsy shop. BUT the first took so long to make (after I kept adding stuff), that I was plum tuckered out and didn’t finish the second one. It ended up in the dust collecting UFO pile. Quilting was diagonal lines following the pattern of the pre-quilted fabric.

This is what the first one looks like finished.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Now I wish I had put the Go Green on the second one. Kinda cute, huh?

So… that is how I spent last Saturday, National Quilting Day.

What all did you do? Do tell.


Linking up to…

http://www.conniekresin.com/2013/03/linky-tuesday_19.html

10 comments on “What I Did On National Quilting Day

  1. Kokopelli says:

    That cup fabric is great! Love it! And wow you were busy on National Quilting Day.

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Dagi… Yep, I was. And I am still sewing up a storm. Just can’t stop. So addicting. Working on my ScrappyTripAroundtheWorld blocks. Trying to get as many done as I can so I can start arranging them up on my design wall. Thanks for stopping by.

  2. Lennette says:

    I would be a happy woman if I had even half of your energy and creativity!!! I am constantly in awe of your talent Donna! I didn’t get a chance to do any quilting on National Quilting Day because we had family in from out of state for a visit.

    • don_mae says:

      Thank you, Lennette. Was your daughter here visiting? I bet you two were making bracelets together. :D

      • Lennette says:

        Alli’s last visit was in January :( We’re all meeting up in Portland for a mini-vacation in May and we’ll be spending time, and money, in my favorite bead store while we’re there!

  3. digipicsphotography says:

    Love that cup mug rug!

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Sharon. Thanks!!

      I had been saving that fabric. Not sure for what. I decided to start using some of the “too precious to cut into” fabric. No sense buying it if I am not going to use it, right. Thanks for visiting me.

  4. Crystal says:

    Ok Kid!
    You have just won the “scrap-buster extraordinaire” award!
    Well, actually, I think I just made that award up, but if there is one – YOU are the winner!!! :-)
    Fabulous job of continually making beautiful use of every inch of your fabric. xo!

    • don_mae says:

      Hey!! I won an award!! LOL!! I’ll take it.

      Thanks much. It IS really hard to part with even the tiniest piece of fabric. I always think there is something I can do with it no matter how small.

  5. stipplequilt says:

    What wonderful projects! Thanks for sharing.
    Freemotion by the River Linky Party Tuesday

Leave a Reply

