Leaders/Enders Works Of Art


Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Leaders. Enders. You know what they are, right? If you are in the Quilting Community, you know. For my non-quilty readers, it just means Do Not Waste Thread. When you come to the end of what you are sewing, grab two scraps and stitch them together. Then go back to what you were first sewing since now it has advanced out the back and can be clipped off. Keep doing this. Sewing two scraps in between your “project” sewing.

And before you know it, you have a table full of pieced scraps.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Isn’t this the cutest!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I only recently started sewing the L/E way. Maybe about six months. I do it about 60% of the time. Because sometimes I get so excited, wanting to snatch out the fabric to see if the seams matched up that I forget. But I am trying to get up to 80% of the time. No sense wasting thread if I don’t have to. And that Gutermann thread is pricey. I only buy it when it is half off.

A few days ago, I changed up how I was sewing my L/E’s. I decided to go Round Robin. Sort of like Log Cabin style. Sewing in the round. Add a strip. Turn. Add another strip. Kept turning and adding until the block was the size I wanted.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I used the center square as my color inspiration. A 2 1/2″ square selected from my charm collection. Rest of the fabrics came from my scrap bin.

Love. Love. Love them. And those times when I don’t feel like creating art “as you go”, I will just grab two scraps and sew. Art will come later when I fit all the pieces together like a puzzle.

Are you saving or wasting thread? 😀

Do tell….


Linking up to.

http://crazymomquilts.blogspot.com/2013/02/mini-mat.html

http://aroundtheblockdesigns.blogspot.com/2013/02/really-random-21413.html

http://www.conniekresin.com/2013/02/linky-tuesday-starts-now.html

12 comments on “Leaders/Enders Works Of Art

  1. farmquilter says:

    Unless it is a Y seam or a short seam, I always use my L&Es! Definitely saves on the thread!!!

  2. Lennette says:

    I’ve never thought about using the L&E way, but you can bet I will now! What a clever idea! Your scraps have turned into awesome blocks that will be ready to go when you want to put them all together in a quilt!

  3. Connie says:

    What a fun project for your Leaders & Enders! Thanks for sharing.
    Freemotion by the River Linky Party Tuesday

  4. LisaD says:

    Being quite new to quilting Leaders and Enders is new to me. Brilliant hint!

  5. I most definitely need to start doing this. The thread cutter doesn’t work on my new machine and I am wasting tons of thread. Thanks for reminding me of L&E!

  6. Janine says:

    Your leaders and enders art is fab. I usually chain piece and cut off the ones that have gone through when I get to the end but of course I eventually get to the actual end! I must start doing this. I love the idea of a little bonus make 🙂

  7. There is always something new to learn! I haven´t heard of leaders and enders before- what a great idea!

  8. I love your log cabins! Now I’ll have to do that too. I do the L/E thing too. So far I’ve made 4 quilts this way. I’m starting a new one now as I begin a Double Wedding Ring. I have been saving and cutting squares and strips for other scrappy quilts I want to make. I’m sure one of them will end up as a L/E.

  9. Great idea. I make string quilt blocks this way. You quickly end up with a quilt top that I usually send off to a charity.

  10. Fabadashery says:

    I have been trying to set up some projects lately, but yet to ‘plan’ my Leaders and Enders Project – thanks for the reminder of what great results it can lead to.

  11. Pat says:

    What a great idea.

  12. Anna says:

    Lovely! I have never done leaders/enders… seems like a great idea, though! Thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

