Starched And Ready To Trim


Twelve and done…

I finished the last panel for my green scrappy braid quilt top yesterday.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Whew!! So glad to be done sewing all the strips together. There are 92 strips per panel. 12 panels = 1104 strips. And it was all add strip, sew, stop, add strip, sew, stop, add… 😀 You get the picture. There was no way (that I know of) to do chain piecing.

But it’s done.

And now I tackle the trimming and sewing the panels together. Somewhere on the net, I read if you starch the panel BEFORE you trim the sides, the fabric (which is on the bias) will be more stable. Not sure if this is true, but since I am still new to quilting, I figured I had better follow what the experts are saying.

So, I sprayed each panel, pressed the heck out of it, hung them back up on my design wall. I wanted to make sure they were completely dry before touching them. I am thinking later today, I will get started.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Wish me luck.

6 comments on “Starched And Ready To Trim

  1. Joan Old says:

    This is looking so good. Could you chain piece by sewing more than one row at a time, so you’d put the first strip on all 12 rows,then press, then put the second strip on each row, then press, then the third strip, and so on. Might work for next time and would save constantly getting up from the machine every 15 seconds.

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Joan, thanks much for your comments on my braid quilt. I fingerpressed as I went and it worked out well. I didn’t do any ironing until the entire panel was finished. Then I ironed the whole thing at one time. I do not see how to chain piece this design. Because of the fingerpressing after each strip is added. I did get faster at sewing them so that is a plus.

  2. sonnethawk says:

    Your work is beautiful Donna! I am sure it will turn out just fine!
    I haven’t been in the mood to sew lately. We’ve been having some cold days and nights, so I have been working on trying to finish my round ripple afghan, which I put over my lap and keep warm as I am working, to keep warm. I just have to finish the edging on it and then I may get into gear with the sewing.
    Your perseverance and dedication really inspire me! Have a beautiful day!

  3. jess in tyler says:

    Omg! Those look wonderful!

  4. Gaby says:

    oh! Is amazing!
    Great great job!

  5. Donna Stark says:

    Beautiful work Donna!

Leave a Reply

