Green Scrap Block Is Finished


Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

One more finished.

As you can see, I moved on to the green scraps. And from the looks of this HUGE plastic bag, I will be working with green for days (maybe weeks).

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

So many greens!! All different shades. I have to tell ya.. I prefer avocado and lime. Those are my favorites. I had to force myself to pick up and use a few scraps NOT avocado and lime.

Basically, I followed the same process as I used for the other scrap blocks I made. Sorted through them.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Sewed pieces together. Laid them out on the table.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

LOVE this lime. I had almost a FQ so it was my inspiration. I designed the block around it.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

(Did you see that I swapped out the white scrap for a more jazzier one? šŸ™‚ )

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Trying to be different this time, I made Half Square Triangles (HST’s) for the top and bottom.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And DONE!! It measures approximately 18″ by 14″ like the others.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

One word of advice… don’t sew when you are tired. Or you could end up with something that looks like this. šŸ˜€

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

If I can find the same or similar pieces, I might make a second green block just like this one. I like it.

What are you working on? Do tell.

9 comments on “Green Scrap Block Is Finished

  1. sonnethawk says:

    Hi Donna!
    Normally, I am not a green person either, but I really love the green material that you used the most of, in your design!
    I have been checking out some quilt vids on You Tube. I learned that batting has a bias. I never knew that! That is interesting to know, especially before I get started on large projects!
    I just finished another quilt ornament. I used up all of the pretty blue butterfly scraps for it. I had just enough! I sent a pic to you!

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Tanya, I received your e-mail with the photo of your latest Christmas ornament. So pretty with the butterflies. Maybe next year you can try to sell a few on Etsy or eBay.

      I didn’t know that about batting. Interesting. Wonder if it makes a difference in how it is cut. I have been piecing sections together (zigzag) for smaller projects. As expensive as that stuff is, I don’t waste ANY of it. I even use the tiny pieces for pillow stuffing.

      Well, back to my greens. I am getting bored. Think I will move on to pink. šŸ˜€

      • Sonnethawk says:

        I was watching some videos that Kaye Wood did on You Tube. She had a piece of batting in front of her for one of her projects. She stretched it horizontally and it gave a little. She then stretched it vertically and it didn’t. I can’t remember which video it was because I watched quite a few. I would think it would probably depend on what kind of batting you were using. I think she had a piece of polyester batting in the video.
        For smaller projects such as the mug rugs you do, I don’t think it would make much difference. I think where it WOULD matter, is if you were making a bed size quilt. You wouldn’t want it stretching out of shape, especially when you were sewing all of the layers together.

  2. Crystal says:

    Wow! Lots of pretty things going on at TYD!
    Did you say 2 years of quilting . . . already?
    Where does the time go?
    Have a beautiful holiday season, Donna. šŸ™‚
    Will you switch to a new craft for the new year?

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Crystal, yep, two whole years with just a few days off for your jewelry challenges and a couple macrame/crochet projects. I am loving quilting. Don’t think I will ever get bored with it.

      No NEW crafts planned. However, for 2013 I plan to carve out some time on my other neglected crafts. When is your next bead challenge?

      Merry Christmas to you and family.

  3. Mike Pearson says:

    Hi Donna! You know I love green! I was just thinking about you today because I won that lovely mystery package from you last year (the color green). I have been English paper piecing hexagons since June with all the fabrics I won from you! Can’t wait to share when it’s finished! I talked about it in this post: http://amateurquilter.blogspot.com/2012/12/scrappy-days-are-here-again-and-ton-of.html Have a nice holiday!!! Mike.

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Mike. I saw your green hexies. They are looking fantastic. Love how you have them arranged. Hexies are a LOT of work. I haven’t tried any yet but hope to in the new year. I am looking forward to seeing your finished quilt. Do you have your own long arm or did you rent one? I wish I could afford one. Thanks for the link!!

  4. Deb says:

    Merry Christmas Donna! A little late getting here but been busy busy busy! I hope it was wonderful!

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Debra, Merry Christmas to you too. We had a nice quiet relaxing day. I was over at your blog reading your last few posts. Glad you had fun partying with your friends.

Leave a Reply

