Building Scrap Blocks


Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

For the last week I have been working with my fabric scraps. They vary in size. From about an inch all the way up to about a FQ. In two years since I learned to quilt, I have accumulated a nice rainbow collection and now they are threatening to overtake my craft room. They are in several large bins separated by color. And even the tiniest pieces are in small baggies.

A week ago I had a brilliant idea. To go into 2013 SCRAP FREE!! Ha. Not hardly!! Way too many scraps. But I did make a dent in the blues, oranges and reds.


This is how I worked through the red scraps and Built A Scrap Block.

First off, if you haven’t done so already, separate your scraps by color. If they will fit, put them into large ziplock baggies. Now pick a color to work on. For me, I selected based on which colors were hogging all the space in the bin.

Red first. (This is just a tiny portion, all neat in this cute little faux-paint can.)

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Lay the scraps out on a table to eyeball the sizes. Iron any wrinkles out. (Yeah, I know. But go ahead and get that iron “hot and ready” to go. 😀 ) Trim any not with straight edges. Scissors will do fine.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Now grab a handful and start sewing. Don’t think too hard. Just grab and sew. Press seams to one side. Trim again, if needed. And now the puzzle making begins.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Pick a scrap you love and start there. I started off with the red fabric with large black dots. That little piece in the center. Love it!! I think it was in the scraps Deb, from Deb’s Losing It, sent me. Arrange and rearrange. Sew one section to another. Keep building.

This size would be perfect for a Mug Rug!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

But I wanted bigger.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And even BIGGER!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Added a fussy cut “Wednesday” and some piano key borders all around.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And done. This is where I stopped. At 18″ by 14″. LOVE IT!! Can be a wall hanging or table mat. Or use it as the “front” to something. Even frame it and turn it into a work of art.

Next I moved to the blues. I made this panel the same size as the red.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I was trying to make them different. Some horizontal strips, some vertical. A bit of Log Cabin style borders. With a few selvage strips thrown in. And some fussy cutting.

Next up. The orange scraps. Now I am thinking I am on to something. Perhaps turn all the blocks into a scrappy rainbow quilt with white sashing. Might be pretty.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I made more projects with these scraps but that will be another post. Soon.


What do you do with your scraps? Are they organized? Do tell. 😀


Linking to…

http://crazymomquilts.blogspot.com/2012/12/finish-it-up-friday-122112.html

http://www.confessionsofafabricaddict.blogspot.com/2012/12/can-i-get-whoop-whoop-o-christmas-tree.html

http://richardquilts.blogspot.com/2012/12/link-finish-friday-46.html

http://aroundtheblockdesigns.blogspot.com/2012/12/really-random-thursday-122012.html

13 comments on “Building Scrap Blocks

  1. sonnethawk says:

    Your creativity never ceases to amaze me! You are so well organized and your creative juices are always flowing! I LOVE the blues that you pieced together!
    I am totally jazzed with my cutting board and wheel! I have been piecing together some of the scraps that Santa delivered to me, and have been making more quilted Christmas balls. I will send some pics later.
    I absolutely LOVE the turquoise material with the gold line designs on it! It made a beautiful ball!

  2. John'alee says:

    What a wonderful post. I always love seeing how ‘quilters’ work. Your process is awesome, so thanks for sharing. Happy Holidays!

  3. Mina says:

    Love your red block. I wish I could make something that cute!

  4. Aoife says:

    They look great! I haven’t built up the scraps required yet but am looking forward to having a go at building scrappy blocks by ‘freestyling’! You’ve definitely given me inspiration – thanks 🙂 Have a great Christmas! x

  5. Deb says:

    I want to add some more bright colors to my wardrobe with my next few projects. I actually had the idea to make a wide belt (use two sets of D-rings to make an adjustable closure) following your scrappy lead with lots of different colors- I’ve even organized my smaller cotton pieces by color so I just need to pick which ones I want to use! Or maybe I’ll make a few of them in different color families.

  6. Audrey says:

    I love that you kept the selvages in there. These look great!

  7. Donna Stark says:

    My goal for 2013 is to use up scraps. I love what you have done Donna. You are one working mean machine girl that keeps me and everyone inspires. Keep up the good work.
    Donna S.

  8. Alycia says:

    That is a great way to work with scraps! Thanks for sharing. I have one bucket ready, so may start like you did…. great inspiration!!

  9. Julie B says:

    What a great idea. These will be great put together with blocks of other colours all in a large quilt with sashings. I am definitely going to give this a go in 2013.

  10. Leah says:

    oh i LOVE these! they are SO COLORFUL!

    i usually give all my scraps away. i don’t like to have them accumulate, but after seeing your blocks here, i may just have to stop giving them away and make some lovely blocks like yours!!

    happy holidays!

  11. You are right! This would make a beautiful scrappy rainbow quilt. You are good!

  12. don_mae says:

    Hi everyone.

    Thanks so much for your comments on my scrap blocks. They are so much fun to make. The hard part is trying to make them all different. After I make a few more, I will put them up on my design wall to see how they look.

    Using up more scraps is one of my 2013 goals too. And mix them with my selvages.

    Have a great holiday!!

  13. rhealey101 says:

    Love the scrap blocks they are fantastic. Thanks for linking up.

    Richard and Tanya Quilts
    Track My Shows

Leave a Reply

