Santa Came Early… Thank YOU, Donna S


Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Wow!! Look what arrived at my house yesterday.

A box full of selvages. Just what I had on my Christmas list. All compliments of a quilting buddy of mine. We have never actually met. We chat on-line at our quilt group and via e-mail. I think we bonded because of our first names. Us Donnas have to stick together. 😀

Donna S. sent a HUGE box of all different color selvage strips. Lots of black and white. Just what I was running out of.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I am seeing all sorts of selvage projects for weeks, months. Can’t wait to sort through them and pet each strip.

Guess what else she did? You won’t believe it. She cut out and sent me the cutest fabric to make pillowcases for my charity. The bands and the body. Already cut!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I will get them sewn and shipped off for this month. What a wonderful thing to do!! Love it. I thank you. My charity thanks you.

Donna S. is also into making stuff with selvages. She shared this photo of a stool she recycled with a new cover. I asked if I could post her photo on my blog and she said yes.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Isn’t this amazing? I would like to do something like this… one day.

Hope you are doing something fun and enjoying your weekend.

Have you seen any sighting of Santa yet? Have you been good? 😀

16 comments on “Santa Came Early… Thank YOU, Donna S

  1. sonnethawk says:

    Incredible! I am so happy for you! You do so much for others. I am so glad that you are receiving back some of the joy you give to others!
    I am going to put my tree up. I have been crocheting and dragging my feet with my Christmas decorations. Christmas is coming, so I had better get busy!

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Tanya, I love doing the giveaways and helping out where I can. Thanks much. I knew she was sending me the selvages (she told me) but I was surprised by how many and totally blown away when I saw the pillowcases. Those selvages will keep me busy for a long time.

  2. farmquilter says:

    What a lovely gift for a lovely lady who gives so many gifts to others! As you bless others, so shall you be blessed! I’ve been good – almost have all 8 quilts ready for gifting, and I’ve been bad – LQS going out of business and so I added about 120 yards to my stash!! At 70% off, how could I not???? It’s an investment…that’s my story and I’m sticking to it!!!

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Susan, thanks much.

      What a deal (steal) you got with the 70% off sale!! Sad the LQS is going out of business BUT happy for you. 120 yards. Wow!! Whomever gets your quilts will love them. Do you post pictures of your quilts anywhere? Would love to see them.

  3. VickiT says:

    Oh very nice package and can I say I’m totally drooling over all the selvages you have intact on those scraps too. Lucky you. Have fun.

  4. sonnethawk says:

    Thanks so much! I sent you an email!

  5. Deb says:

    Wow! What a nice gift! 😀

    I’ve been sewing a lot the last few days- knocked out a skirt (all I could salvage from a dress I “tried” to make), a button down pencil skirt which turned out beautifully, and today a fluffy purple bathrobe! I’m not sure what I will do tomorrow- maybe make a coat for my mom’s little dog. 🙂

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Debra, don’t you just love to sew. It is so relaxing. I think I would rather craft than eat or sleep.

      You have been making some really cute jewelry too!!

  6. Kelly says:

    Awesome! Love all the projects you do with those edges. That was very sweet of Donna to include supplies for your pillowcases.

  7. Linda says:

    Donna – the girls loved the Christmas Tree Mug Rugs! They thought I had made them and were wondering how I got so clever! No girlfriends, I said you must go the Etsy and check things out. Thanks again.
    Linda

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Linda!! I am so glad your friends loved them. Thanks for letting me know!! Now I will have to get some new things listed in my Etsy shop. I hope they do stop by. Hope you will come again.

      Thank YOU!!

  8. Donna Stark says:

    Glad you could use them. I still have more. Blessings to you!
    Donna S.

Leave a Reply

