Added Borders To My String Circle Blocks


Want to see what I have been working on for two days?

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I decided to give my String Circle blocks some love. Last you saw them I was pondering whether to add borders on all four sides of each block.

As you can see, I went with just two. An “L” design. That way I don’t have so much of a color conflict on all sides. Looking at the blocks, one kind of flows to the next without being a standalone block.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Six blocks across and six blocks down. Each block measures 11″ by 11″. I started off with a 10″ square for the back and added 1 1/2″ borders. For the borders, I selected two fabrics from the circle.

I am thinking I may add a seventh row. I have 10 blocks leftover. But for now, I am going to start sewing the rows together.

Wish me luck that the seams line up!!

Happy Thanksgiving.. don’t eat too much turkey and pumpkin pie. ๐Ÿ˜€


Linking to…

http://www.confessionsofafabricaddict.blogspot.com/2012/11/can-i-get-whoop-whoop-better-late-than.html

http://richardquilts.blogspot.com/2012/11/link-finish-friday-42_23.html

http://crazymomquilts.blogspot.com/2012/11/finish-it-up-friday-112312.html

23 comments on “Added Borders To My String Circle Blocks

  1. sonnethawk says:

    Your project looks good!
    I wanted to wish you a Happy Thanksgiving and also, a Happy Birthday!
    I know your BD is this month, but I cannot remember the date. I was thinking that it was close to Thanksgiving, though. Was I right?
    I hope both days are special for you!

  2. Lennette says:

    It looks beautiful Donna!!! I’m with sonnethawk…I know your birthday is in November, but I can’t, for the life of me, remember the date. Since I can’t remember the date, I think you should celebrate EVERY day this month because someone as special as you deserves a month of birthday specialness! ๐Ÿ™‚ Happy Thanksgiving!!!

  3. don_mae says:

    Hi Tanya, Hi Lennette!!

    Yep, I am a turkey baby. I was born on Thanksgiving and about every four years my birthday falls directly on Thanksgiving. But not this year. My birthday is the 24th. Thanks much for my birthday wishes.

    And thanks so much for your comments on my quilt top. I have two rows sewn together. Taking a break now. Will work on it more later.

    Have a great Thanksgiving!!

  4. Janneke says:

    It looks so nice! Bright colours for the winter months ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Betty says:

    HI DONNA HAPPY THANKSGIVING!!! HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!! WHAT ARE YOU DOING FOR YOUR BIRTHDAY? I KNOW YOU AND YOUR HUSBAND WILL DO SOMETHING SPECIAL. I SHARED SOME PIECES OF YOUR JEWELS AT OUR WOMEN’S CONFERENCE AS DOOR PRIZES. WE HAD LOTS OF FUN. HAVE A WONDERFUL DAY!!!
    PS I LOVE YOUR NEW PROJECT. YOUR ARE SO CREATIVE. LOVE THE COLOR AND SHAPES!!!

    • don_mae says:

      OMG.. I thought I replied to you, my bestest college buddy!! I didn’t do anything too special. Bo’s family combined my birthday with Thanksgiving dinner. I received lots of gifts and cash. Glad you are sharing the jewelry with your church members. I will send you more stuff next year when I do my clearing out. Better for you to enjoy them than continue to collect dust. ๐Ÿ˜€

  6. Crystal says:

    Happy Thanksgiving, Donna! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Happy Birthday, too!
    I remember that your birthday is around Thanksgiving.
    Hope you have a wonderful day on Saturday. What’s that? Hubby says he will cook that day? ๐Ÿ˜‰

    If not, I am sure he will treat you to dinner at your favorite restaurant.
    Have fun! xo

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Crystal, thanks so much. Yes, I am a turkey baby but this year my birthday didn’t fall directly on Thanksgiving. I spent quite a bit of time in restaurants during the week of my birthday. My favorite thing to do. Eat out!! I spent most of my birthday monies on fabric. And boy did I get some great bargains. I will be sewing for years and years. Wish I had two pairs of hands. You should come sew with me. ๐Ÿ˜€

  7. That is brilliant, I love the layout!

  8. Terri says:

    Love your “L” borders. They go with the circles. If we get to vote, I’d vote for another line of blocks. It’s square now, great for a baby quilt, but soooooo much work for a baby quilt. (They get washed multiple times, and dragged around later on… This one is better for an older child or adult, don’t you think so?)
    Hugs

  9. Deb says:

    I love your L layout, it’s something I never would have thought of. I think it adds interest without taking anything away from your amazing circles. Great job!

  10. Katie Z. says:

    Your decision to only frame two sides looks great! Good work.

  11. Brenda says:

    fun quilt! I love string quilts of any type.

  12. amandajean says:

    the blocks look wonderful with two borders. that is an excellent solution! hope all the seams line up. ๐Ÿ™‚

    thanks so much for linking up to finish it up Friday!

  13. Cathy Tomm says:

    Love the scrappy circles.

  14. Karen Schulz says:

    I would never have thought of making circles from strings. This is great. Visiting from crazy mum quilts

  15. tubakk says:

    What a fantastic quilt this will be!

  16. Lynette says:

    Hey, these blocks are really neat! They’re going to make a wonderful quilt.

  17. Shan says:

    Those blocks are really cool! I agree they’ll be a great quilt! I remembered your birthday…because it’s exactly one month after mine. I just didn’t remember it when I should have! Check your email. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Shan, I got it!! Thanks so much for remembering my birthday. I only wish I had remembered yours. How can I forget!! You are one month older than me, LOL!! ๐Ÿ˜€

      Your bracelets and scarves are beautiful. Thanks for sending me photos. I am going to put your bracelet photos in my You Made It page.

  18. don_mae says:

    Hi everyone. First, let me thank you for my birthday greetings. A few of you who have known me for some time remembered I was born on Thanksgiving. I had a very nice birthday. I am getting up there in age but hopefully I am able to continue sewing/quilting/blogging for many more years.

    And also thank you, everyone, for your comments on my string circle quilt. It is a labor of love. Once I started, I knew I had to keep going. I am loving how it has turned out.

  19. Grant says:

    This is really interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger.

    I have joined your feed and look forward to seeking more
    of your fantastic post. Also, I have shared your
    website in my social networks!

Leave a Reply

