Last Of The October Finishes: My Pillowcases


Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Yay!! This is the last of the stuff I made in October. I am excited!! Since I can begin to show you the things I have made so far in November. Order… got to have order. Can’t put the cart before the horse. 😀

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

A couple of you asked if I would do a tutorial on how I am making my pillowcases. I am working on it. Not finished yet but I am thinking I will have it ready to post early next week.

So this post will show you the charity pillowcases plus a few I made for my Etsy Shop.

OK… Let’s get started.

The two in the top photo are my favorites in this batch. Batch 8. Black and white. So crisp looking. If I had a black and white bedroom, I would use them myself.

Stripes. I found a great flat sheet at Salvation Army’s Thrift Shop a couple months ago for just 3.99. I was able to get five pillowcases from that one sheet. Isn’t the John Deere fabric the cutest!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

More stripes. I love these!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Dots. Polka dot, splashes of dots and large dots.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Even flowers, vines and leaves.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And these I made from the leftover backing fabric from my Hugs and Kisses quilt. I don’t waste ANY fabric. I will make it work even if I have to piece the pieces together.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Well, that does it for the charity pillowcases. 20 in this batch for October. Yay!! I am still on track to meet my goal of 20 a month from May to December.


I also made a few I will be putting in my Etsy Shop.

This set I am so in love with. I love the colors. The freshness of the white bubbles fabric.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

BUT mostly I am happy with how the fabric strips lined up almost perfectly at the seam.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


This patriotic set was made from pinwheels I made in July.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

They were some of my practice blocks just sitting. I used most of them.


And this last pillowcase.. Purple, lavender and teal.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I made the band from some blocks I made some time ago. Blocks I made when I was on my scrap color blocks kick last year. They were just sitting in a plastic bag. I was delighted when I laid them out and they measured exactly what I needed to make the band.

Whew!! That does it for my October finishes. Sorry it took so long. Now I get to tell you and show you my November projects. Thanks for sticking with me. 😀


Linking to…

http://www.sew-much-ado.com/2012/11/we-did-it-wednesday_13.html

http://www.conniekresin.com/2012/11/linky-party-tuesday_13.html

9 comments on “Last Of The October Finishes: My Pillowcases

  1. sonnethawk says:

    I love the red, white and dark blue ones! They are very patriotic! Happy Veteran’s Day!

  2. All of them are great! I sure wish my goals would work like yours do!

  3. Gaby says:

    I love the one in white and colourful!
    So so niceeeeee!

  4. Lennette says:

    They’re all beautiful Donna!!!!! My favorites are the white with colorful stripes and I absolutely love the bottom one!!!!!

  5. Crystal says:

    There will be smiling faces when these pretty pillowcases are delivered to their new owners!

    You’re bringing lots of cheer to people who really need it. Bravo, Donna! 🙂

  6. Lyndsey says:

    Lovely work. I particularly like the one with the white bubbles fabric.

  7. I enjoyed looking at all your pillowcases. They are great and you clearly had fun making them!

  8. Great pillowcases. Love the fabrics and how you put them together. Nice!

  9. stipplequilt says:

    Beautiful pillowcases! Thanks for sharing.
    Freemotion by the River Linky Party Tuesday

Leave a Reply

