String Circles: Starting Over… With Applique #3


Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Thanks so much for commenting on which of the three applique techniques you liked and why.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Three, it is… Not only did #3 get the most mentions, my eyes kept scanning all three and I have to agree with you that #3 does have the “cleanest” look. The applique blends with the circle and doesn’t stand out as much.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

It wasn’t the easiest. Sewing-wise. That would be Applique #1. But I took my time and did my best to be consistent. Trying for the same look.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Those circles done with Applique #1 have been ripped out, redone and finished. I got different results from the various background fabrics. Some I loved how the applique turned out.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

A few others. Not so much. This ivory fabric with black dots acted so ugly. I think it was too stiff for applique.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I was only able to get two using the ivory with dots to lie flat. I ripped out and redid them so many times, the fabric looks like swiss cheese. For sure headed to the scrap bin. Or the Trash Bin!!

Remember the yellow ones I HATED? Well, I have to retract that. I am liking them more now. Here is one of them.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

It looks OK. Better this way than before.

Now that the applique decision is behind me, I can move on. I have to decide whether to go borderless or with borders. Log Cabin borders.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And if I go the Log Cabin route, where should the border go. Sides? Top and bottom? Two borders? Four. More decisions. Or I could just sew all the blocks together plain, no individual borders. And do sashing horizontal or vertical under or between the rows. Decisions. Decisions.

It will be more work and more scrap bin diving but I think I like the individual border arrangement.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

A border on each side using four of the fabrics used in the circle. We shall see. It depends on how much time I want to spend working on it. I have so many other quilt designs in my head. Itching to start on something “fresh.”

Thanks again for commenting and helping me make my applique decision. Hope you will stick around and come back to see my progress.

I just might be finished by Christmas. 😀

One last thing to show you from October. My pillowcases. I made the usual charity ones PLUS I also made a few I will put in my Etsy Shop. So please come back to see them. I will post them in two days. Trying to spread out my posts so you aren’t overwhelmed. 😀

5 comments on “String Circles: Starting Over… With Applique #3

  1. sonnethawk says:

    Your creativity never ceases to amaze me! Keep up the good work!

  2. Lennette says:

    They look gorgeous Donna!!!! Your talent and creativity never ceases to amaze me!!!!

    • don_mae says:

      Thank you, Lennette!! I do believe learning to quilt has made me a better sewer.

      Did you see the green fabric you sent me? Love. LOVE. Love them. I am about out of everything you sent. 😦 Can you believe it. 17 lbs of fabric!!

  3. Kokopelli says:

    That will be agreat design once it is finished. Love all the different colors.

Leave a Reply

