So… What Do You Think? Applique 1, 2 or 3


My String Circles project has stalled. I am still undecided on how to proceed. A week or so ago, I thought I knew what I wanted. I merrily appliqued the circles to the background fabric. You can see the ones done here on my design wall.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

BUT…

I was still not thrilled. So I continued to experiment. (Actually what I was really doing was making a mess of my background fabric. Lots of ripping out and redoing.) 🙂

So… These are my current options. What do you think?

Applique #1: Top stitched directly to the background fabric.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Applique #2: Muslin circle sewn to the back of the String Circle, turned inside out, stitched down.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Applique #3: String Circle sewn to background fabric face down, background fabric trimmed all around leaving about 1/4″ to expose string circle, stitched down.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I want all to have the same applique technique. So I am at a standstill until I decide which way to go. 😦

There are probably more ways to do this but of these three, which do you like?

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

26 comments on “So… What Do You Think? Applique 1, 2 or 3

  1. Kokopelli says:

    I think the third one is my fav. Looks like the cleanest method.

  2. Charlotte says:

    I like #3 the best.

  3. Vicki says:

    Choice #3 looks great–much prettier than the first two.

  4. LisaD says:

    I agree with Vicki and Charlotte. The technique in #3 is prettiest. It makes a frame around the appliqué. LisaD in upstate NY

  5. Char LaDronka says:

    #2, but they all look great 🙂

  6. What about #2 but with invisible applique stitches instead of blanket stitch? It would make the circles look more like they were pieced blocks. Or, if you want to attach the circles using your sewing machine, use technique #2 for the finished edge and use a fancy stitch your sewing machine has to attach the circles. I did that and used a double needle, two different colors of thread and different patterns on every block – turned out great!

    • don_mae says:

      Do you mean hand sewing? (I avoid hand sewing whenever I can. Hate it.) I used my twin needle once but didn’t like the result. Ripped it out. Wish I could see the blocks you made. Thanks much for the suggestions.

  7. Margaret says:

    I like option three best. They all look great.

  8. Lynne says:

    Look forward to seeing the finished product!

  9. Leo says:

    Applique 1 or 3. (2 is too high). It depends on what you want. Do you want …
    Hmm no, ok I thought about it a bit more: Version 3 and nothing else. It’s the most beautiful way and it looks I don’t know better more “whole”. It’s a bit like catching a clips through a round window …

  10. Donna Stark says:

    Wonderful idea and blocks!! Love your ideas and energy to sew Donna!

  11. VickiT says:

    I really love #3 but #2 is a close 2nd choice.

    I have to say the second I saw that picture, I immediately thought Christmas ornaments. Those would be super cute with the ornament type tops stitched onto them.

  12. Tanya says:

    I like #3 the best.

  13. Sheila Belveal says:

    I like technique #3 the best…the overall look is neater!

  14. Deb says:

    Number 3, easy. 🙂

  15. Shan says:

    I also like #3. It has a “cleaner” look to it. It’s going to be beautiful, no matter which one you do!

  16. Bern says:

    I like No. 3 but are you leaving a raw edge on the topside after you applique the circle on by machine? Would the raw edge not fray a little?

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Bern, my photos aren’t the greatest. I think what you are seeing that looks like fraying is just the bottom part of the applique stitch. I caught all of the edges as I sewed around the circle.

      I like #3 too. Thanks much for the question.

      • Bern says:

        I couldn’t see any fraying at all, that’s why I wondered what method you had used! Your work in the stitching in No. 3 is excellent!

  17. Angelika says:

    I like the last one best!

  18. don_mae says:

    Hi everyone… wow!! Lots of comments.

    I have decided to go with #3. Now I am trying to get them all consistently sewn the same. 10 done. 10 left of applique #1 to rip out. 20 ready for the top applique. It is slow going but I am getting there.

    Thanks much for leaving me a comment.

  19. Terri says:

    I’d do it the easiest way, which ever is easiest for you. I would do #2 but would sew the pucks on with a straight stitch close to the edge. They are gorgeous. How did you get the edges so smooth? Mine would have bumped out at every seam.
    Hugs

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Terri, sorry for just now answering your question. We had no electricity for a day and a half, my computer got fried during the outage, had to take it in for repairs. Just got it back.

      To answer your question… not sure how my edges are so smooth. It is a mystery to me too. I just go slow and use my quilting glove to guide the fabric around. Thanks much for your comments on my work.

  20. Janneke says:

    I like the third one best! But I see you already started using method 3, nice 😉 Good luck, I think they look very cute!

  21. Paula Lee M. says:

    I think the third is nicest, although they are all pretty.

Leave a Reply

