American Heroes Quilt Update and String Circles Status


UPDATE

If you remember from my post back in July, I made a quilt top for charity, American Heroes. It was patriotic themed and would be presented to a wounded American soldier returning from the war. (Original post at bottom)

Just wanted to show you what my quilt top looks like now after being quilted. It was quilted this month by the amazing Nancy, from one of the many quilt guilds around the country working with charities.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

If you look closely, you can see the design. Banners and stars.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Isn’t it wonderful!!

Pretty soon, my quilt will be headed to one of the hospitals charged with mending our wounded soldiers. It warms my heart knowing it will go to someone who almost gave their life making it safe for ME. To allow me the freedom to write this blog. Craft all day. Do as I wish. For that, I am truly grateful.

Thank you, American Hero Quilts, for founding such a worthwhile charity. Thank you, Nancy, for giving of your time, talent and supplies. Also thank you for the photos.


STATUS

I haven’t done much with my String Circles since I last showed them to you. BUT… I did decide on how to connect them and make them into a quilt. I am going to top stitch (applique) the circles onto a 10″ fabric square of beige/cream/ivory.

This is what a portion looks like.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Lots more to do. I am hoping for a this year finish.

Well, that does it for me. Working on more stuff but none at a stage I can share. Soon.

What are you working on? Do tell….


Go here to read my post on my American Heroes quilt top.

https://thisyearsdozen.wordpress.com/2012/07/16/soldiers-quilt-top-is-finished-and-2-new-umbrella-blocks/

https://thisyearsdozen.wordpress.com/2012/07/12/american-hero-quilt-6-rows-one-to-go/

13 comments on “American Heroes Quilt Update and String Circles Status

  1. lynne sinan says:

    Love the American Heroes quilt and the reason for it. God Bless You!

    Love your newest quilt and have to say that I thought it was a Christmas project because the circles reminded me of Christmas balls! . . . .just sayin’

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Lynne, so good to see you. Hope you are doing well.

      They do look like ornaments!! I have some red and green circles. Would be great for a Christmas project. I may make a Christmas table runner with just those colors. Thanks for stopping by.

  2. I love American Heroes Quilts! I have quilted about 20 for them – my favorite charity to quilt for since my daughter is in the Army! Thank you…and I know the service member who receives it will be so thankful for your giving heart!

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Susan, this project was so fulfilling creatively. I finished the quilt top faster than any other since I knew where it was going. I purchased more patriotic fabrics and plan to make a few more. Thank YOU for stopping by. (Your string blocks should be arriving any day now.)

      • Oh Donna, the string blocks arrived today and they are FABULOUS!!! At least an inch high stack of beautifully done string blocks – I am so excited thinking about different arrangements for them and adding my blocks to them!!! Thank you so much!!!

  3. sonnethawk says:

    The quilt is beautiful – as always! Yes, some lucky veteran will be honored to warm themselves up with that quilt!
    What am I working on?
    I just finished another posey pocket – “Classic By Design.” I also overcame my fear of pressure cookers and have been having fun cooking up a storm! I just made a big pot of chicken noodle soup. It is packed with lots of vegetables and chicken. I cooked the chicken by itself in my cooker, took it out, and then assembled the rest of the ingredients. It only took 5 minutes for everything to cook after the pot came up to pressure. I am truly lovin’ this new “art!”

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Tanya, thanks much for your comments on my quilt. I plan to make a few more. Bought more fabric, just need to decide on a design/pattern. Something quick hopefully. The American Heroes group is always in need of quilts.

      Thanks for sending me the photo of Classic By Design. It is so pretty. I have that pattern too. Never tried it but it came out so nice.

      I used to have a pressure cooker. It was avocado. LOL!! I think I just dated myself. I loved to cook in it too… until the seal dried out and it didn’t seal anymore. Have fun with your new “toy”. Send me some of that chicken. Yum!!

      • sonnethawk says:

        Donna,
        If there was a way I could send the chicken to you and still have it arrive fresh, I would do it!
        The chicken soup was shared with my neighbor last night before we watched the debate. Today, I have been feasting on it all day. It tastes so good!
        My neighbor let me try out her cooker. She has no room for it and told me she wanted me to try it out, and keep it over at my place for a while. I have been having so much fun with it! I LOVE how little time it takes to cook delicious healthy meals. I’ve even cooked a batch of dry garbanzo beans and made some home made hummus from them. It was really good!
        I want to explore the possibility of making desserts like cakes and cheese cake in it. There is a “will”, so I will find a way!
        As always, thanks so much for your compliments on my work. It is much appreciated!
        I will be looking forward to seeing how your next project is going to turn out. Happy designing!

  4. Lennette says:

    The American Heroes quilt is beautiful!!! There’s a special place in heaven reserved for wonderful loving giving people like you Donna!!! God bless you for all of the wonderful things you do for others!

    I started a wall hanging yesterday for Alli and Doug that has lots of yellows, grays, blacks and whites in it. Since this is their first winter in Ohio, I think they’re going to be surprised by the winter weather so I wanted to make something filled with sunshine to brighten up those winter days.

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Lennette!! I was hoping you would see the finished quilt. I bet you could have done those stars. One day, maybe I will be able to do something like that. 😀

      I know your wall hanging for Alli and Doug will be beautiful. I love the colors you selected. You will have to e-mail me a photo once you are done. Poor Alli. First winter in Ohio!! Boy, are they in for a surprise. LOL!! Does she own a pair of boots!!

      • Lennette says:

        LOL Donna…they are definitely in for a surprise! It’s funny you mentioned boots because that’s exactly what I bought her for Christmas! I figured she might need them before December 25th so I sent them to her this week. They’re rated -20 degrees from LL Bean and they’re ugly as all get out, but should do the trick for keeping her feet warm! I will definitely email you a picture when I finish the wall hanging! I miss you my dear friend! I’m so glad you have this blog so I can “see” you all the time! I can’t tell you how much I look forward to “seeing” you and all of your wonderful projects!

  5. Crystal says:

    How wonderful that you have a chance to see it after it’s been quilted!
    Beautiful and generous work by you and Nancy! 🙂

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Crystal!! Yep, I am totally thrilled to see my quilt top quilted. I can’t even imagine trying to quilt something like that on my sewing machine. Nancy has a longarm business and also volunteers her time for charity via her quilt guild. Thanks much for stopping by.

      (Are you working on your Monday project?) 😀

Leave a Reply

