My September Roundup


Not many projects were finished in September. But if there had been a contest for pieces made, I probably would have won.

I made….

  • 22 charity pillowcases
  • 126 Hugs and Kisses blocks
  • 12 String blocks
  • 40 String Circles
  • 3 Birthday mug rugs
  • 1 Quilt top quilted

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

This was my last finish for the month. A Birthday Mug Rug. When you last saw it, it looked like this.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I decided to go smaller and ditched the other half-square triangles (HST’s). Just went with the yellow dotted ones for the front. For the back, I used royal blue HST’s and fussy cut a square of balloons. I love how this turned out and probably would have made more but boredom forced me to move on.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


Whew!! Made it!! Met my monthly goal of 20 charity pillowcases. I actually made 22.

Here’s Batch 7.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

My favorites in this batch are the basketball pillowcase and the yellow one. The yellow one is pieced and fabric strips sewn onto muslin. It took FOREVER so I only made one.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I like seeing them all piled high in a great big stack. Makes me feel like I really worked hard. 😀

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Now I am up to 128 total pillowcases. I am 28 ahead of schedule. (I started in May.)


These are up on my design wall. No clue YET what I will do with them.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I guess you would call them String Circles. I was just in a “get rid of some of these scraps” mood and made one, then another and another.

And before I knew it, I had been making them for two days. I do think whatever I make, I will separate the darker ones from the rainbow colors and make two different projects. No rush on whatever I will make. They can stay up on my design wall until I need the space for something else.

Cause…

Right now, this has my attention.


Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Yep, working on basting it.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Do you see the purple quilt top I was telling you about? The one I made last year. It will now be the backing for my umbrella quilt. So glad to finally use it for something. It had been folded for so long, I had to press out the wrinkles.

Well, that does it for me. Got to go plan my projects for October. I know I want to make up a couple Halloween things. Maybe a table runner. Also I want to use up more of my HST’s. 16 down. 1000 to go. Plus I want to finish up at least two UFO’s. Lots to do. Lots for you to see. BBL

OHHH… I forgot… do come back in a day or two. I feel a giveaway coming on. 😀

Take care. What Fall projects are you working on?

10 comments on “My September Roundup

  1. Tanya says:

    Wow Donna! You never cease to amaze me! When do you sleep? I have often wondered this. :<)
    Your umbrella quilt is beautiful!
    How did you make the circles? Was it with a special tool?
    Keep up the good work! You do a wonderful job!

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Tanya, thanks so much for your comment. Yes, sometimes I DO sleep. LOL!! 😀

      I made the string blocks as normal, sewing one string at a time, sewing down to a 7″ muslin square. And then I centered a plate over it and trimmed around the circle. No special tools.

  2. LisaD says:

    Donna, your circle string blocks look like gorgeous Christmas ornaments. The mug rug looks great! LisaD in upstate NY

    • don_mae says:

      Thanks, Lisa. After reading your comment, I went off in search of fabric Christmas ornaments and you are right!! I could use my circles for ornaments. I could add a little square to the top to make a hanger. Thanks for the idea!!

  3. Susan says:

    Thanks for the awesome idea on what to do with my “string” material I have been making!! Never thought of circles…sew creative of you!!! You are sew ambitious with all your projects!!! I am working on getting the 8 quilts I made for Christmas gifts this year quilted, bound and labeled. 4 are quilted, 1 has the binding needing to be hand sewn down and 1 is waiting for a label. Trying to find backing fabric from my stash for the remaining 4 quilts is currently my stumbling block!!

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Susan, thank you for your comment, really appreciate it.

      Sounds like you are going to be super busy finishing up all those quilt tops. Wow!! And I have that problem too. Not being able to find just the “right” backing. So they sit. Good luck with getting all of yours finished by Christmas.

  4. gabrielaquintana says:

    I was 33 on september! I want the Birthday Mug Rug for me! Beautiful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Gaby, happy belated birthday!! Hope you had a special day. I can remember when I was 33. So long ago. 😀

      Send me your address. I will send the mug rug to you. Happy Birthday!!

      • gabrielaquintana says:

        Ha Ha, noo, it’ s ok. Thanks anyway!
        I can’t believe I ‘m already 33, although my hubby is 40, so I always feel young! ha ha ha 🙂

  5. Carol says:

    I always love to see what you are working on. Stringing Circles. I’m sure you have some creative unique use coming on!

Leave a Reply

