Snuggle Time… Come Look!!


Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I am all ready for Fall. Got my new Hugs and Kisses quilt. My coffee and my quilt books. I AM READY for the cooler weather!!

Finished sewing on the binding in the wee hours this morning. Had to wait for some decent light so I could take photos.

I have definitely found a new way to sew on a binding. I love how the extra 1/4″ batting I left all around looks. It is so much fuller and I didn’t have any problems getting near perfect corners.

This is how the corners looked pinned.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And how they look machine sewn.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Want to see one more? I am so loving this binding.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And I love how the back looks.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I have to tell you. I am really pleased how this quilt turned out. Wonky looking white strips and all. It measures 62″ by 62″. I will definitely make another one using this design. (Hopefully I have learned a thing or two on the block construction.)

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I will try to get a couple photos of the full quilt outside. If the weather cooperates.

Wait until you see what is on my table now. You won’t believe it!! 😀


Go here for the tutorial to make your own Hugs and Kisses quilt.

http://www.littlemissshabby.com/2011/11/hugs-kisses-quilt-block-tutorial/


Linking up to….

http://crazymomquilts.blogspot.com/2012/09/finish-it-up-friday-returns.html

http://richardquilts.blogspot.com/2012/09/link-finish-friday-34.html

http://www.confessionsofafabricaddict.blogspot.com/2012/09/can-i-get-whoop-whoop-back-in-saddle.html

http://quietplay.blogspot.com.au/2012/09/tgiff-its-here.html

22 comments on “Snuggle Time… Come Look!!

  1. sonnethawk says:

    Donna,
    The quilt is just beautiful! Outstanding! i don’t quilt YET, but I like the idea of the batting extended into the binding strip, also. I LOVE

    • sonnethawk says:

      I’m sorry! I hit the wrong key and my page went flying!
      I was saying that I loved the fluffiness – and fullness – in the binding of the edge of a quilt. It is a fine finish for a nice piece of work!
      I am anxious to see what your next project is!

  2. Jude says:

    WOW !!!
    Good one, Donna-the-quilter-extraordinaire!
    🙂

  3. Emma Parker says:

    Popping in from Freemotion by the River linky party. Really pretty work! Isn’t it a great feeling to finish a project? Especially one that you really like!
    Emma

  4. Awesome corners! You done good, girl. Binding is my fave part of quilt making… love how those corners come together. Yours are perfect! Nice job. YOu should be proud.

  5. Betty Lou says:

    Your quilt turned out very nice. I learned to sew binding on the Thimbleberries way and cut 2 3/4″ strips and sew with a 3/8″ seam——–I like the fuller look also.

  6. Lennette says:

    You have outdone yourself Donna!!! The quilt is beautiful, as are all of your quilts, and the binding is wonderful!!!! You should be so proud of yourself my dear friend!!!

  7. Denise says:

    Beautiful Quilt! You’ve inspired me to try the same pattern!

  8. really excellent binding! I usually sew them down by hand, as I am a bit chicken to try the machine version, but actually – what can go wrong? I sense a doll quilt coming up 😀

  9. Heather says:

    That looks so cozy! Love it!

  10. I like that pattern for its scrappy look. I would love to see it with all cools in the x’s and hot/warm colors in the diamonds. I also read a bit about your charity projects while I visited your blog. Good luck with your pillow cases… That is what I am working on right now… 9 down, 4 more to go. A friend is collecting them to give to the children’s hospital where her daughter spent a lot of time. You are right, they are super easy!

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Electronmom, have fun making your pillowcases. They certainly are addicting. Fun to make AND addicting. Thanks for checking out my blog. Hope you will come back.

  11. Mary says:

    Great pattern and I agree about the added bulk in the binding. I like a full binding myself. Congratulations on a nice finish.

  12. Fabulous quilt! Love the binding – it looks so great!

  13. What a gorgeous quilt! I love the colours!

  14. Mike Pearson says:

    Very nice! Do tell more about the way you did the binding!

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Mike. You can see a photo here of what I did with the batting. I left 1/4″ all around. Then I pinned the entire binding making sure the back would catch along the seam as I stitched VERY SLOWLY in the ditch from the front. I flipped up often to make sure.

      I cut the binding 3″ and ironed in half. I think for my next one, I will cut the binding 3 1/8″. Thanks for asking. (I forgot to add.. I sewed 1/2″ seam.)

  15. Lisa says:

    I wouldn’t have thought about the scissors for binding, but it looks great! And I’m very impressed with how well you were able to do the machine stitching.

  16. Sarah C. says:

    What a beautiful quilt! You did an awesome job finishing up that binding – looks great! Whoop whoop!!

  17. Seriously, those block points are pretty amazing! I was admiring them the whole post!!

  18. Connie says:

    Beautiful quilt and your binding looks perfect! Thanks for sharing.
    Freemotion at the River Linky Party Tuesday

  19. don_mae says:

    Thanks so much for all of your lovely comments.

    I am so excited about this design. I have all different quilts floating around in my head using it. For sure, I will make a smaller one. Either for baby or a child. It really does come together quickly after the blocks are made. Hope you will try it.

Leave a Reply

