Today Is Quilting Day


Well, it had to happen some time, right?

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I cleared off one banquet table and got started. Or so I thought. I FORGOT TO MAKE A BACK!! Silly me. Had to put the sewing machine back on the table. Had to piece the material for the backing since it was only 45″ wide. Duh…

I guess that is what happens when you haven’t quilted any large projects for a LONG time. You forget what to do.

Anyhoo… back taped to the table, basting spray and pins in hand.

Whew!! I am plum tuckered out just from all that. BUT I will start quilting this quilt top TODAY. I thought about straight lines but I think I am going to stipple it with medium sized puzzle pieces.

OH. Forgot to tell you. I added the 28 additional blocks several days ago. Quilt top now measures 62″ by 62″. 14 blocks across and 14 blocks down. 196 total.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I slowly sewed along the diagonal lines and the white strips in the center matched up much better this time.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I know I can still do better so I am figuring out how best to make the next ones. I am not trying for 100% perfection. Just trying to better my percentage.

I have been working on some other things, too. Will show you in a few days.

Hope you are staying busy with your projects. Working on anything for Fall?


Go here for the tutorial to make your own Hugs and Kisses quilt.

http://www.littlemissshabby.com/2011/11/hugs-kisses-quilt-block-tutorial/

11 comments on “Today Is Quilting Day

  1. sonnethawk says:

    The quilt top is beautiful! You are a vigilant hard worker, and everything you do will only get better. I love watching your creativity! Have a beautiful day!

  2. Terri says:

    I love your quilt. So much nicer than the X and O I made last year – or so. (It’s been on the couch to have the quilting strings hidden and cut for so long, I don’t even remember the sewing part.) Do you have a pattern for yours? I’d love to make one like it.
    Hugs

  3. Crystal says:

    So true, Donna!
    Sometimes the set-up to get ready to craft is more tiring than the project, itself! LOL

    It’s looking wonderful!!! 🙂

  4. Donna Stark says:

    You must take a lot of Vitamin C Donna!! LOL you go girl!
    Who does this pretty quilt go to??
    Enjoying your blog!

  5. Gorgeous top. Love it.
    For Fall? Hmmm, do pincushions count? lol

  6. don_mae says:

    Hi everyone. Thanks so much for stopping by and leaving me some Comment Love.

    So exciting, isn’t it!! Quilting, and then hoping for a good outcome. I don’t exhale until time to add the binding.

    Donna S, probably will just look at it for a year or two. And then gift it to someone. OR maybe I should keep it as a reminder of how badly I sewed on the diagonal. 😀

    Cyn, yes pincushions do count!! I love making them and have a few planned for this year still. Some selvage ones.

    Thanks again to all of you.

  7. Lennette says:

    It’s absolutely beautiful Donna!!!

  8. gabrielaquintana says:

    OOH… I can`t understand how you do that!
    It’s perfect! The lines, the colours…
    Someday we want to see you in video , watching HOW you sew these quilts!

  9. Lauren aka Giddy99 says:

    It’s gorgeous!

  10. don_mae says:

    Thank you, Lennette, Gabby and Lauren. I finished the quilting. Yay!! Now I am going to baste and get another UFO quilt top ready for quilting.

Leave a Reply

