Quilting By The Numbers: 24, 150, 19 and 0


I can NOT believe August has come and gone!! So fast. Just like that. Here and gone. Well, one more day. Today. All those To-Do’s, To-Make’s. Did some. Didn’t do A LOT.

BUT… I did accomplish quite a bit this week and last.

24. I worked on my charity pillowcases.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

As you know my goal is 5 a week or 20 a month. And being the Queen Procrastinator that I am, I didn’t start the ones for August until September was breathing down my neck. Talk about pressure!! But I did it. 24 pillowcases. How’s that for a Breakneck Sewing Marathon.

I have to say, I like this batch. Batch 6. I like them a lot. Some fabrics are new that I recently caught on sale at JoAnn’s. Footballs and helmets, owls, miniature toy cars.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And some were leftover from other batches. I am using up quite a few novelty pieces.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

This batch also includes a few softer, sweet girly baby pink ones.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

That makes a total of 106 pillowcases made so far this year. I am on track to meet my 2012 goal. 😀


150. That’s the number of Hugs and Kisses blocks I have completed. The scrappy blocks I am making from all those squares I cut. I pulled out four of my favorites. They are in the front.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

This is how all 150 look up on my design wall. I need 12 more blocks to finish off the “X” on the right side and six along the bottom row. Unless I add more columns and rows, the quilt top will be 14 blocks wide and 12 blocks long. Each block finishes off at 5″ square.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I didn’t realize how much I work with jeweltone colors until I saw Crystal’s comment on my blog. And I do!! My quilt will be brighter than the one I was inspired by. Bolder. Not sure I am happy with the larger prints like the navy huge circles. May swap them out.

Later this year or next year, I would love to make these blocks using baby themed fabrics. Also I have an idea for one in black and white. Need to get it mapped out on paper before I cut the squares.


19. My string blocks are coming along too. I am making them for a swap in one of my quilt groups.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I got the final count for the swap a couple days ago. Including myself, there are five people participating. So I only have to make 16 blocks. Four per. I actually am finished. So far, I have made 19 but want to continue making them so I can select the best of the bunch for the swap. (I took out the four I am using for my wall hanging.)

I kind of strayed from the swap guidelines (make scrappy, don’t color coordinate) on a few. Not sure if I will keep them or use for the swap.

Purple and Turquoise.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Birthday.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Michael and Henry.

I am calling this one the Michael and Henry block. I used three Michael Miller and four Henry Glass fabrics. I like it. Think I will keep this one and make more.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Swap mailout deadline is Sept 30. Can you believe it!! For once in my life I am ahead of schedule. Probably because they are fun to make. And addicting. I can’t resist pulling out 12-14 strips and laying them out on a square of muslin. Then when I get bored with whatever I am making, I make a string block. My Boredom Breaker method seems to be working well.

Do you like making string blocks? Have you ever tried it? Try it. You might like it. What a great way to make a dent in the mountain of scraps I know you have. 😀


Zero. 😦 Sadly, this month will go by without a quilt top finish. How did that happen!! I could make a list but they would all be excuses. So I won’t bore you. I really DO want to quilt my quilt tops. I have to keep telling myself I will feel so much better once they are finished and the binding is sewn on. I have the finished look in my head. Now I need to get the finished quilt in my hands.

Hopefully I will have a finished quilt to post in September.

How about you? What Fall projects do you have lined up? Do tell…


Don’t forget to enter my “Be An Animal” giveaway. Three lucky people will win prizes. Could be you!!

https://thisyearsdozen.wordpress.com/2012/08/25/quilters-blog-hop-party-and-be-an-animal-giveaway/

Linking up to…

http://www.confessionsofafabricaddict.blogspot.com/2012/08/can-i-get-whoop-whoop-pretty-little.html

10 comments on “Quilting By The Numbers: 24, 150, 19 and 0

  1. Great blocks. Absolutely LOVE the string blocks. You sure have a fabulous sense of color.
    “Atta-Girl”! for making so many pillowcases. Great.

  2. Jude says:

    Donna, you are a real inspiration! Love what you’re up to – those ideas are wonderful. Good one! 😀

    • don_mae says:

      Hey!! How the heck are you!!

      Thanks much. I miss you. Are you quilting or crocheting charity blankets?

      • Jude Gibbard says:

        I miss you too, Donna – a lot! I’m fine but traveling too much to get into any really serious quilting, knitting or crocheting projects. Had a wonderful time staying with the Texan Ratbag and his lady. Must start quilting again, but we’re back to the USA, Ecuador, Argentina and Uruguay again next month for 9 weeks. Will work out some applique stitching to take with me for the little amount of “down time” I might have. Keep up the good work here. You really are quite an inspiration to me!
        Luv, Jude.

  3. Deb says:

    Love the pink pillow cases! So cute and so feminine! BF would shoot me if I put some like that on the bed… haha!

    And that purple and turquoise block is beautiful! Great colors together. 🙂

  4. Karen says:

    Awesome projects. The pillowcases are great.

  5. Sarah C. says:

    Well, you’ve certainly been busy!! Love all the pillowcases, and your blocks are great! I may have to try that Hugs and Kisses block! Whoop whoop!!

Leave a Reply

