Guessing Game Winner Is… Fran.


Drumroll please…

I cut a total of 945 squares (751 – 2 1/2″ squares and 194 – 5″ squares)

The winner of my guessing game is Fran. She guessed 857. Her guess was the closest without going over.

Fran said:
August 23, 2012 at 11:38 am
I am going to say you cut a total of 857.

Congrats, Fran, please send me your name and address so I can get something pretty mailed off to you.

And a special thank you to everyone who left a comment. I enjoyed reading each one.


Many of you commented you wanted to see what I was making. I am making a quilt called Hugs and Kisses. I saw it at Little Miss Shabby’s site (link at bottom of post) and really loved it. It seemed easy enough for me to make. Scraps I have. Tons of them. This quilt is tailor-made for me.

So far I have 40 blocks finished. Can you see the X’s and O’s? 😀

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Each block measures 5″ square. I will probably make 100 more. As I finish more blocks, I will rearrange them to mix the colors up well. And I’ll do a post in a couple days so you can see how I am making mine. I am doing two things different from the tutorial.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Hopefully mine will be as pretty as hers.


Go here for Little Miss Shabby’s tutorial. (Hope it’s OK. I borrowed this photo from her site.)

http://www.littlemissshabby.com/2011/11/hugs-kisses-quilt-block-tutorial/

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

9 comments on “Guessing Game Winner Is… Fran.

  1. Lennette says:

    Your quilt is going to be gorgeous!!!! WOW…that’s a LOT of work, but it’s looking gorgeous!!!!! I don’t know that I’d have the patience to make that many blocks!

  2. Kelly M says:

    I really love the colors you are using for yours. Makes me want to make one too! I have tons of scraps that I could use.

  3. Corey says:

    Lovely!–I can’t wait to see the finished quilt!

  4. Carol says:

    I love that quilt pattern. Your start is awfully pretty.
    congrats to the great guesser. It was a fun game!
    have a great weekend.
    xx, Carol

  5. Fran says:

    Soooo happy I won your guessing game. Love your string quilt! Fran

  6. Crystal says:

    Love the Hugs and Kisses design and the jewel tone fabrics you have chosen for it. 🙂

  7. don_mae says:

    Hi everyone. Thanks for your great comments. They keep me going and wanting to create.

    Update on the prize. It was mailed 8-28.

    I am still working on the H & K blocks. Should have a photo to show you soon.

  8. Fran says:

    I received my wonderful gift from Donna’s guessing game. A mug rug, a mug and a cute little pin cushion that matches.

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Fran!! Thanks for letting me know your gift arrived. I was hoping the mug didn’t break during the shipping.

      (You can see the mug rug and mug I sent Fran here.)

Leave a Reply

