Eight Strip Blocks Done… Keeping 4


Remember in my last post, I told you it took me almost an hour to make the first strip block? Well, I got the time down to 20 minutes. And I am thinking I can get it down even more. If I cut the strips ahead of time. I have been grab-and-go, placing the strips, cutting them down to get the look I wanted. All on the fly. Overall, I am pleased with the outcome.

Here’s what the eight look like.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

You know how much I love earthtones. Though I tried to steer away from browns, I did automatically reach for orange, rust, wine and green. I made just one block predominantly with purples and lavenders. I like it. I plan to make a few more.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Want to see which four I am keeping?

These. I will turn them into a wall hanging using my Chili Pepper fabric for the border.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I ran out of the fabric I will use for the first border. Checkerboard. It was a scrap I bought on eBay last month. Wish I had more. It looks black and white, and I have it in black and white. But that is CREAM and black. Love it!! If anyone knows where I can find it, let me know.

I will use orange for the cornerstones. I auditioned green, red and black. The orange “pops” plus it is almost the same shade in the Chili Pepper fabric.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

So… anyhoo… I am setting this aside for now. Let it settle. Let me see if I can go a week without changing or rearranging. I really do like it as is though. Only one thing I would change. That one really BRIGHT green strip in the right bottom corner blinds me when I look at it through the camera lens. 😦 It may get a makeover.

OK, just wanted to show you what I worked on yesterday. I was so excited getting to play with my scraps.

12 comments on “Eight Strip Blocks Done… Keeping 4

  1. clidoana says:

    this will be a beautiful wall hanging! love the strip! and your pepper fabric is gorgeous.

  2. Margaret R says:

    This is very cute for a wall hanging. I am glad you are starting to like the strings. I have tons of them and have done a few different things with them but I really like this style. Might have to start another project.

  3. LynSkyhawk@aol.com says:

    You are right about the green at the bottom. It throws off because it is the only true bright. Nevertheless, I love what you have done. The quilt is graphic, “today” and excites the eye. Lynne

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Lynne!! I decided I will swap it for a different color. My eye kept going back to it again and again. Thanks.

  4. Lennette says:

    Oh my gosh Donna, I absolutely love it!!! That is going to be such a beautiful wall hanging!!!

  5. That is a lovely quilt! I love the vibrant colors.

  6. Becky S says:

    I really like the bright splashes of color in each of the blocks. It seems even in each of the squares.

  7. Deb says:

    Okay Donna, I have a question for you. I bought (as you’ll see on my blog today) 8 yards of various purple/pink fabrics because I AM GOING TO MAKE A QUILT! lol But I have no idea what type of blocks I want to do or where to start or anything at all. I just have 8 yards of mostly coordinating fabrics on their way from good old fabric.com and know I want to make a queen sized quilt.

    So… What’s a really cool looking but fairly simple (it can be time consuming, that’s okay) quilt block I can work on between other projects and have a totally kick-ass looking quilt by the time the weather gets cold? You’re my expert in this! Or if there’s a certain book that would be really good to use for a resource, point me to it!

    Thanks!

    • don_mae says:

      Oh Wow!! For Real!!

      OK, first off.. get some practice under your belt BEFORE you cut into those coordinated fabrics. Don’t want to mess up those. I am sure you have some cotton laying around.

      My first quilt was the Drunkard Path blocks. Curved blocks. Everyone said it was super ambitious for a new quilter but I was looking at it as just sewing and I know how to sew. BUT quilting is totally different. Different rules. Different ways to do things. I made such a mess with the cutting. So glad most of the fabrics had been sent to me by friends.

      Here’s a site with hundreds of blocks.

      http://www.quilterscache.com/QuiltBlocksGalore.html

      I have spent many hours there looking and learning. I have tons of quilt books but mostly they give the same tips. I learned a lot off the internet.

      To start, watch some You Tube videos on Beginning Quilting and do a search on Google for beginner’s tips. Read, read, read. Before cutting into your fabric.

      After making the quilt top, you will have to think about how you will quilt it. Or if you will send it out to be quilted (which can cost hundreds of dollars.) Lots to think about.

      Lots of decisions to make BEFORE you start. I’ll help all I can. (But I am still new to quilting too.) I am excited for you.

      • Deb says:

        I have every intention of doing my research and practicing before I start! I know I do *not* want to do those drunkard’s path blocks as I hate sewing curves. No thanks! I do really like the disappearing nine and the one you are working on now.

        How do you manage to cut perfect squares? I can see using a marker to trace around a perfect square and cutting down the lines working, but is there an easier way?

        I know I won’t be sending it out to be quilted- will probably be a huge pain in the butt to do but I’ll manage. 🙂 I’ll do some reading and let you know of any more specific questions as I think of them.

        Thanks so much Donna! 😀

  8. don_mae says:

    Hi everyone. Thanks so much for your comments on my strip block wall hanging. I am so loving it. I hope to get it finished some time next week. I found one yard of the cream and black checkerboard on eBay. Should have it next week. Thanks again for stopping by and leaving me some comment love. 😀

  9. don_mae says:

    Debra, watch this. It is EXACTLY what I do. Hope this helps.

Leave a Reply

