More Scraps… String Quilt Blocks


Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I am still working hard on the project I cut all those squares for. Will be able to show you in a couple days. Just need to get a few more blocks made and up on my design wall. It is coming along nicely. Slow but steady.

And since I was craving another finish, I decided to take a break from my large project and do something quick and small. I signed up for a string block swap with one of my quilt groups. I have made the blocks before but it was a while ago.

This is the practice one I made this morning.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And it wasn’t all that quick. Easy, but not quick. I used 14 fabric strips sewn down onto a muslin foundation. It is 7″ square.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

It took almost an hour. I think because I was hemming and hawing as I sewed. Hopefully the next few won’t take as long.

Here’s the second one. Laid out, ready to sew.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Depending on how many sign up for the swap, I am thinking I will be making about 30 blocks. Thank goodness I will have a month to complete them. If I make one a day, I should be OK. Got to get faster. No more hemming and hawing. Just Sew!! šŸ˜€

What projects are you working on?


Go here for the string quilt block tutorial. Great site!! (Don’t let the words “paper-pieced” scare you off. You can do like I am doing. Sew the strips to muslin.)

http://www.filminthefridge.com/2009/04/27/a-string-quilt-block-tutorial-paper-pieced-method/

5 comments on “More Scraps… String Quilt Blocks

  1. LOVE your string blocks. The fabrics are teriffic. I’ll bet it is total fun to play in your stash! Good luck with the swap.

    • don_mae says:

      Thanks, Cyn.

      Yes, it is eyecandy galore!! I LOVE playing with my fabric. Stash, scraps, selvage, itty bitty pieces. I love them all. I made a total of six string blocks today, Got the time down to 20 minutes. Yay on me!!

  2. Deb says:

    I probably shouldn’t show you this but in case you missed it, Fabric.com is having a huge cotton print sale. Tons of fabrics for $3.95 a yard. http://www.fabric.com/cotton-quilting-blowout-sale.aspx I may have to pick a few things up myself.

    • don_mae says:

      Oh, No, You Didn’t!!

      I am on the site now. 33 pages of $3.95’s and I am just on page 4. šŸ˜¦

      Thanks for the link. I already qualify for free shipping. šŸ˜€

      • Deb says:

        Yeah I had three or four tabs open on the first two pages, then said “What am I doing?” and closed the tabs… lol. I will probably go back though. Its terrible, this addiction! Maybe I’ll try quilting next.

Leave a Reply

