My Tree Is Quilted and Finished


Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Just finished this today. My evergreen tree is quilted and ready to hang. That is, after I make the sleeve and sew it on. I already have a rod long enough so I should be able to hang it sometime today. It measures 30″ by 30″.

I am pleased with how it came out though I could have done a better stitch-in-the-ditch for sewing on the binding to the back. I haven’t done much stitch-in-the-ditch. But I am sure with practice I will get better.

For the quilting, I made diagonal lines from the top and followed down the “branch” tips on the left and right. And then I outlined the trunk and several squares above it. Along the last border, I sewed two straight lines all around.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

You can see the quilting better from the back.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Here’s my machine sewn binding. Not too bad. I will go slower next time so I can stay inside the ditch.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I even have an idea for Christmas. Using little scrap pieces of red fabric and making gift boxes with red squares. Add red polka dots or some other red Christmas fabric for the border and it will be perfect for the holidays. So that means I will be making a second tree. πŸ˜€

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

It was fun and easy to make. If you want to make one, use pre-cut charm packets if you have them. Using scraps was great and I love working with scraps but the preparation time delays you getting started.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

OK, that is a finish for me. Yay!! (Now I am off to work on a UFO.)


Go here to read about how I made my tree and for links to other patterns.

https://thisyearsdozen.wordpress.com/2012/08/15/for-ever-green-didnt-want-to-rush-christmas/


Linking up to…

http://bowdabrablog.com/2012/08/18/saturday-showcase-craft-projects-15/

http://richardquilts.blogspot.com/2012/08/link-finish-friday-28.html

http://mamalovequilts.blogspot.ca/2012/08/tgiff.html

http://www.confessionsofafabricaddict.blogspot.com/2012/08/can-i-get-whoop-whoop-sweet-baby.html

16 comments on “My Tree Is Quilted and Finished

  1. Shannon says:

    Great job! I love the quilting! Whoop Whoop!

  2. Lennette says:

    I love it Donna, I absolutely love it!!!! I think that’s my favorite quilt to date!!!! I can’t wait to see the Christmas one!!!!

  3. Carla V says:

    Wow that came out great!

  4. Jude says:

    That’s one tree you will never have to prune!
    Clever lady. What a quilter! πŸ˜€

  5. Deb says:

    It turned out cute!

  6. Kristen says:

    Nice quilt! It’s perfect for the holidays!

  7. Crystal says:

    Wonderful! πŸ™‚
    Loved Kokopelli’s suggestion for a garland at Christmas. Your “year-round” tree could actually be decorated for each holiday – pumpkins, hearts, Easter eggs, etc.!

  8. Crystal says:

    Hmmm, not sure I was clear in my comment above. I meant *one* tree quilt that *changes* for each holiday – not multiple quilts. πŸ˜‰

  9. don_mae says:

    Hi everyone. Thank you so much for stopping by and leaving me a comment. I really enjoyed making my tree. Would love to make several more.

  10. Lynette says:

    Love it πŸ™‚ And the red additions are great.

  11. Sarah C. says:

    Beautiful quilt! And you could always make the additions removable so you could “dress” it for Christmas, then use it the other way the rest of the year. Whoop whoop!!

  12. Carol says:

    I’ve been following along with you last couple of posts but forgot my PW to comment.
    I really like this tree. I loved the red presents on one too. Your quilting really made this quilt perfect.
    xx, Carol

  13. Really sweet little tree mini! Love it!

  14. Amanda says:

    I love the tree…and the idea of having a second one for Christmas time. What a fun little addition!

Leave a Reply

