American Hero Quilt: 6 Rows, One To Go


Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I have been steadily working on my American Hero quilt for one of our wounded soldiers. It is taking longer than I anticipated trying to get to the required 87″ in length. Perhaps if I had planned better, used math during the design stage… :D I am thinking wider than 3″ for the in between rows sashing would have increased the length. But inch by inch, I am getting there.

I like that either looking at it from the top or turning it around and looking at it from the opposite direction, the pattern resembles little flags. And that is exactly the look I was trying for. Yay!!

The quilt needs to measure 63″ by 87″. Currently it measures 65″ wide by 70″ height. One more row (which is 10″) and a border all around should do it.

Which means I need six more Disappearing Nine Patch blocks. I still have quite a bit of fabric left. Except for the red polka dots. Totally out. I have a 50% off JoAnn’s coupon. Hope I can use it.

So glad I only had to make the quilt top. Some wonderful volunteer ladies out there in Quilty Land will do the sandwiching and quilting. I want to get this finished and off my sewing table. TODAY. So I can move on to something else. Like the table runner I need to make and get mailed off in three days. Plus I want to get back to my umbrella blocks. Working on them makes me happy. :D

What are you up to? Hope you are doing something you love and are staying out of the heat.


Go here to read more about this project.

https://thisyearsdozen.wordpress.com/2012/07/08/disappearing-9-patch-quilt-and-the-stripes-ruler/

https://thisyearsdozen.wordpress.com/2012/07/06/sewing-one-for-the-men-and-women-our-soldiers/

10 comments on “American Hero Quilt: 6 Rows, One To Go

  1. Lennette says:

    It looks gorgeous Donna!!!!

  2. Deb says:

    It looks great Donna! So glad you are doing this. :)

    Yesterday I said okay, let’s finish that dress I started on 2 YEARS AGO. I’m going to have to completely disassemble it and re-cut everything to fit with each other. No idea how I managed it but pretty much everything that can be wrong with it is. Ugh! What a headache! And afterwards I’m not even sure I’ll be able to wear it. But we’ll see. Mostly I just want to save the darned thing and not scrap it.

  3. don_mae says:

    Hi Lennette!! Hi Debra!! Thanks for coming to visit me. :D

    Went to JoAnn’s today. Found the red polka dot fabric I needed though it was a teensy tiny bit off the color swatch I took with me. OK. No problem. That will work. As the lady was unrolling it, there was a HUGE area with damage. I mean HUGE. About 15 inches, right in the middle of the length. Torn, ripped, shredded. Like a tiger used it to clean his cage. I still got it. BUT… it ended up being TWO cut pieces instead of one. My 50% off coupon only covered one. :(

  4. Linda Sue says:

    Love it, Donna! D9P is such a wonderful block!

  5. Fran says:

    Yes I like this one too. Very easy to do and looks terrrific.

  6. don_mae says:

    Thanks so much, ladies, for stopping by and leaving a comment. Really appreciate it.

    I am having fun quilting. So many ideas. So little time. :D

  7. Crystal says:

    Wow! I’m surprised that your coupon only covered one piece of the fabric – it wasn’t your fault that it had to be 2 pieces. You would have bought one large piece if it hadn’t been unusable in the middle of the bolt. Not fair!

    (But the quilt top is gorgeous!) :-D

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Crystal. Totally not fair!! :D

      I thought later, after I got home, that I should have purchased the one piece even with the shredded section to get half off for all of it. I would have saved a few dollars. But then it would have sent a message to JoAnn’s that people will buy anything.

      Thanks for visiting me.

  8. Carol says:

    I really like this quilt top! I always love red, white and blue but making it for a Vet makes it even more beautiful.
    xx, Carol

Leave a Reply

